420A motor first start fires but will not run

All questions about MS2/Microsquirt/Microsquirt module. See also MS2/Extra manuals

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Tired2
Helpful MS/Extra'er

420A motor first start fires but will not run

Post by Tired2 »

So, I'm pretty new to this... I managed to get everything wired up and tested, sensors, spark, etc. I realized that I had a bad fuel injector, so I replaced them all with 560cc injectors. Trying to start the car now, it will ignite a few times, and then when the "cranking" light goes off on the gauges in TunerStudio, it dies.

My car is an eclipse with a 420a motor, 2.0L 4cyl running wasted spark with 2 MS2 internal BIP373 coil drivers.

The injectors are Low-Z (2.5 ohm), and I have my settings set up as stated in the manual for MS2 with Low Z:
Current Limit: 30%
PWM Time Threshold 1.0ms
Dead Time 0.6ms.

Req_Fuel is at around 6ms, but when I convert the injectors over to the base fuel pressure I'm running (60psi), I get 660cc, or 4 ms Req_Fuel. I tried both values with no luck.

Also, I'm running the "suggested base tune" from Symtech Labs, but I have not really messed with the fuel or spark tables, and to be honest I don't really know where to start changing them yet. The car is turbo, hence the injector size.

Worth mentioning also, is that I neglected to check my base timing, my timing gun failed me, and I have yet to get a new one. Could that be a problem? It ran on the stock ECU okay prior to MS, so it should be close, right?

Does anyone have any ideas that could help me out? I know I have fuel pressure, and I know I'm getting spark. Can someone look over my MSQ and a cranking log and help me find out what is going on? Thanks.
rickb794
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: 420A motor first start fires but will not run

Post by rickb794 »

Did you calibrate your sensors?

In the TS tools menu.
Correctly identify your MS ecu here