Using Microsquirt PWM signal to operate 4 wire IAC

All questions about MS2/Microsquirt/Microsquirt module. See also MS2/Extra manuals

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

IslanderXJ
MS/Extra Newbie

Using Microsquirt PWM signal to operate 4 wire IAC

Post by IslanderXJ »

OK, I'm a bit new to all of this so bear with me. If you see anything that doesn't jive, or I missed a step, fill me in.

I have a throttle body that has a built in 4 wire IAC, I'd really like to use it. No direct plug and play with the microsquirt.
Retrofitting a TRX700XX throttle body onto an XR650L for a fuel injection conversion. It's 95% theory at this point, the bike is torn down for a full rebuild and ground up reinforcement and modification.

I read through the whole Idle Air section of the Megasquirt Manual (found here ).
If we've figured this out later, and your reading it then, and you don't know how a stepper motor works, check this out:
http://www.freescale.com/files/microcon ... AN2974.pdf

So, I've been dragging around the internet trying to find a way to turn the PWM signal into a 4-wire signal to operate basic H-bridge circuits that I "believe" the megasquirt boards would already have, but microsquirt does not (to save room?).

So I was thinking how do I translate PWM signal into something a little more usable. I googled my face off till I found this. All it needs is my PWM signal, 12vdc and a ground, and it will give me a variable 0-5vdc, sounds good to me!
Control an LM317T with a PWM signal

Now I have a 0-5vdc signal, it sounds more usable, but still not quite there yet... :RTFM:

I need to take that signal and turn it into something I can control those H-Bridge circuits with.

I found this which may solve another part of my predicament:
Adafruit Trinket - Mini Microcontroller - 5V Logic
Little bit of of code writing and a few beers and I think It could be used to translate a 0-5v signal to the 4 wire analog I need.