Knock sensor.

All questions about MS2/Microsquirt/Microsquirt module. See also MS2/Extra manuals

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Knock sensor.

Postby 107merc » Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:41 am

Is there anyway to modify an MS2 to accept 2 knock sensor inputs and to do a setup in Tuner Studio??
It looks like TS will only accept a signal from one source at a time. Everyone I talk to says 2 sensors, one at cyl. 2 and one at 4 are required
for accuracy on an inline 6.. Seems like most manufacturers of inline sixes use 2. Any info appreciated.
107merc
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:35 am

Re: Knock sensor.

Postby hybrid » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:09 pm

One knock input only.
And it can't be connected directly to the ECU. It needs some kind of module, such as KnocksenseMS.
Do not load someone elses tune and expect it to work for you!
Image
User avatar
hybrid
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Knock sensor.

Postby 107merc » Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:51 pm

So I would need MS3 with a JSM add on board for two knock sensors.
That will wait for an ECU upgrade.
Thanks everyone.http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/html/Meg ... 5-153.html
107merc
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:35 am

Re: Knock sensor.

Postby Matt Cramer » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:09 am

Correct; the MS3 has a lot more knock sensing capabilities than MS2. Not just two knock sensors - you can set them to listen during specific crank angles, and more.
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: Knock sensor.

Postby SethU » Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:13 pm

I'm fairly certain that the KnockSense module can be configured to accept two knock sensors, summed and wired into one input of the KnockSense, which provides a single knock output signal to the ECU. But, it's something that has to be specified when you order the KnockSense unit... as far as I know. That was the process of ordering mine anyway. However, my application is not the same, it's a V8... but does utilize 2 sensors from the factory.
SethU
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:57 pm


Return to MS2/Extra, MS2, Microsquirt and Microsquirt module support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest