no spark and "Not RPM Synced" issues

All questions about MS2/Microsquirt/Microsquirt module. See also MS2/Extra manuals

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Rubicon_Dave
MS/Extra Newbie

no spark and "Not RPM Synced" issues

Post by Rubicon_Dave »

I recently upgraded from the B&G firmware to the MS Extra (3.4.2) on the advice of a few folks and now the car won't run... I've worked on everything within my realm of knowledge (I'm new to this...) and can't come up with anything.

I'm getting fuel but I don't seem to be getting any spark. I checked the coil and it appears to be good and I think there's no coil output from the ECU. I've attached a log and the msq.

The engine is a Toyota 22R with a GM TBI. I'm pulling the tach signal from the factory V/R in the Toyota distributor. (fuel injected dizzy, no vacuum or mechanical advance...) When I'm cranking I can see the RPM is hovering around 190~200 on the gauge so I guess I'm getting a tach feed, but I still get a "not rpm synced" message. I tried testing the coil from the output test mode (coil directly to a grounded plug...) and got nothing.

I also used the composite logger method to check for crank/cam signals listed in the quick start guide but got nothing so I'm at a loss. Any ideas?

Thanks.
rickb794
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: no spark and "Not RPM Synced" issues

Post by rickb794 »

What port is your ignition output connected to?

Your tune is set for D14, B&G firmware may have used a different output.
Correctly identify your MS ecu here
Read the Do's and Don'ts to avoid the common pitfalls before starting your install or asking for help
Use only these manuals other manuals may cause brain damage or worse.
Rubicon_Dave
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by Rubicon_Dave »

When I built the board with the B&G code I installed the jumper from IGN to IGBTOUT and IGBTIN is jumpered to JS10. ignition comes out on pin 36 (brown wire)

How do I port it to D14 (do I remove the LED?) or can I just change the output to JS10?