MS2 bmw rt1200 settings

All questions about MS2/Microsquirt/Microsquirt module. See also MS2/Extra manuals

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

BEANY747
MS/Extra Newbie

MS2 bmw rt1200 settings

Post by BEANY747 »

Hi all , I am new to all this but have been tasked with fitting a MS2 and Edis4 to an old Carb model BMWrt1200 engine ( motorcycle ), I have fitted the toothed wheel and pickup, 2 x injectors , throttle position , temp sensor. trying to set up on the dash board settings were good ,throttle all good then saved the project and now when I open it the warning comes up saying a setting is wrong , rectify and re boot !! the dash shows the engine rpm is flat out !!! Has anybody fitted this to a BMW Boxer engine before that could help me with the settings ? thanks Beany
grom_e30
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: MS2 bmw rt1200 settings

Post by grom_e30 »

post a copy of the tune file up
1990 bmw 320i daily driver with m20b25 ms3 sequential fuel, 380cc injectors, d585 coil near plug, home made cam sync, launch control, fan control, vss, homebrew egt logging what's next????
R100RT
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by R100RT »

I run a BMW R100RT on MS, full sequential, turbo'd etc. I'd be happy to offer thoughts and advise on your project, I am however not familiar with a 1200RT having carbs stock.
Can you provide a bit more information on your bike. The scrambled rpm message generally means a configuration error on settings, see this http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 01&t=31532

Other questions:
a) what toothed wheel and where mounted?
b) what sensor on your tone wheel (VR or Hall)
c) seeing as how EDIS4 has just that, 4 spark outlets for wasted spark on a 4 cylinder engine, how are you using that on a 2 cylinder (unless you have something other than the Boxer 2 cylinder going on here)
d) what throttle bodies (re-tasked BMW motorbike fuel injector bodies?)
e) what have you loaded for code, and it is MSExtra?
:msq:
Regards, Lorne