2nd MAP sensor for primary load?

All questions about MS2/Microsquirt/Microsquirt module. See also MS2/Extra manuals

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

2nd MAP sensor for primary load?

Postby ChevelleFan » Sun Dec 24, 2017 7:54 pm

MS2/Extra 3.4.2, 3.57 board.

Is it possible to configure a 2nd MAP sensor on JS4/JS5 (with protective circuit shown in manual) and have it use that sensor as the primary map? My main goal is using the factory map sensor, don't really care about real-time baro. I couldn't see a way to configure it in Tunerstudio.

Thanks,

-Dave
Attachments
Saturn1.9-GMDIS.msq
(119.01 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
'70 Chevelle zz383/700r4/3.55 MS2-Extra, Holley Stealthram, 12.18 @ 109
'92 Saturn 1.9 DOHC/5sp, MS2-Extra
User avatar
ChevelleFan
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Re: 2nd MAP sensor for primary load?

Postby rickb794 » Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:38 am

If you don't need the second sensor, why not just disconnect the built in sensor and bring out the signal lead on one of the spares?
This is my brain on MegaSquirt!
Use only these manuals http://www.msextra.com/manuals/
Avoid the common pitfalls, Read this before start http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=65757
rickb794
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2886
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:28 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: 2nd MAP sensor for primary load?

Postby ChevelleFan » Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:08 am

Mainly because it's a 3.57 board. I have the car running now with a hack-but-functional vacuum adapter where the old map sensor was, supplying a vacuum hose to the onboard map. I was just hoping to eliminate that.

-Dave
'70 Chevelle zz383/700r4/3.55 MS2-Extra, Holley Stealthram, 12.18 @ 109
'92 Saturn 1.9 DOHC/5sp, MS2-Extra
User avatar
ChevelleFan
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Re: 2nd MAP sensor for primary load?

Postby rickb794 » Mon Dec 25, 2017 11:01 am

I could not find a picture in the manual but I'm sure it's not a surface mount device.

You could even cut the pin close to the board to make it easy to unsolder the leg, leave enough to re-solder if you want to switch.

Also you need to think about whether the OEM sensor is supported, it may be problematic to calibrate.
This is my brain on MegaSquirt!
Use only these manuals http://www.msextra.com/manuals/
Avoid the common pitfalls, Read this before start http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=65757
rickb794
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2886
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:28 am
Location: Portland OR


Return to MS2/Extra, MS2, Microsquirt and Microsquirt module support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests