What am I missing?

Questions specific to Megatunix - alternate tuning software that runs on unix and windows.
Note that Megatunix is obsolete.

Moderator: djandruczyk

gtpilot
MS/Extra Newbie

What am I missing?

Post by gtpilot »

First of all a complete newb to MS, but not to custom FI systems, etc.

I got my MS-I (PCBA v2.2, ECU version 8.1), loaded up v29 of MSnS-extra, got the communication to work through Megatune. Able to upload/download/log etc. without any problems.

I was looking at Megatunix due to the nicer "creature comforts" and the ability to create an "electronic dash" in the racecar. Downloaded the files suggested by the site, installed them and when I tried to connect I got the following:

USER Initiated ECU interrogation...
Command "C" (MS Clock), returned 3 bytes
Command "c" (MS-II Clock), returned 1 bytes
Command "A" (Runtime Vars), returned 1 bytes
Command "R" (Runtime Vars (MSnS-Extra)), returned 1 bytes
Command "Q" (MS Revision), returned 1 bytes
Command "V" (VE/Constants), returned 1 bytes
Command "S" (ECU Signature), returned 1 bytes
Command "T" (Text Version), returned 1 bytes
Command "I" (Ignition Variables), returned 1 bytes
Command "F0" (Raw Memory Readback), returned 2 bytes
Command "a06" (MS-II RT Vars), returned 3 bytes
Firmware NOT DETECTED properly, Expect MegaTunix to NOT behave properly
Contact the author with the contents of this window

I also have the notation above it confirming the ECU revision, Textual Version "T" and ECU signature string "S".

To note, I am connected through a USB/serial convertor - Keyspan USA19H2KP - what is odd is that Megatune connects through virtual COM4 and Megatunix connects through virtual COM3.

Any suggestions or more information that I can supply to solve the puzzle?

Thank you for any and all advice/help.

Kirk
djandruczyk
MS/Extra Guru

Re: What am I missing?

Post by djandruczyk »

gtpilot wrote:First of all a complete newb to MS, but not to custom FI systems, etc.