Page 1 of 1

Blank Black Gauges

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:23 pm
by therecklessengineer
Evening chaps.

I've been trying to get Megatunix up and running. I've tried installing on Kubuntu and Ubuntu both existing installations and completely fresh installs (all 11.04 based). I've also tried on two different machines.

All machines quite happily install Megatunix and it runs and will communicate with an ECU (various firmwares) without issue. However, the gauges all remain blacked out.

I've only turned up one other thread on here with similar problems - the suggestion was that the gauge format in .15 worked. I've tried this too, and still have the same issue.

I've been beating my head against the table for a few days now and I'm pretty stumped. Anyone got any suggestions as to what might be the problem?

Re: Blank Black Gauges

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:48 pm
by djandruczyk
therecklessengineer wrote:Evening chaps.

I've been trying to get Megatunix up and running. I've tried installing on Kubuntu and Ubuntu both existing installations and completely fresh installs (all 11.04 based). I've also tried on two different machines.

All machines quite happily install Megatunix and it runs and will communicate with an ECU (various firmwares) without issue. However, the gauges all remain blacked out.

I've only turned up one other thread on here with similar problems - the suggestion was that the gauge format in .15 worked. I've tried this too, and still have the same issue.

I've been beating my head against the table for a few days now and I'm pretty stumped. Anyone got any suggestions as to what might be the problem?



Did you use a tarball or a git checkout?

Try a git checkout if possible.

Re: Blank Black Gauges

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:16 am
by therecklessengineer
Thanks for the reply.

I've tried from Git several times, but I've been unable to make it run. It will compile and install just fine, but upon execution, I get an error. I can't remember what this is off the top of my head.

Compiling/installing from a tarball has been sucessful - this is the method I've been using.

I'll have another crack at Git and see if it makes any difference.

Re: Blank Black Gauges

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:29 am
by therecklessengineer
Ok, this is the error I get from a git install:

Code: Select all
megatunix: error while loading shared libraries: libmtxcommon.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


I've removed the previous installation using:

Code: Select all
sudo rm -rf /usr/local/bin/megatunix \
    /usr/local/bin/gaugedesigner \
    /usr/local/bin/dashdesigner \
    /usr/local/share/MegaTunix \
    /opt/local/bin/megatunix \
    /opt/local/bin/gaugedesigner \
    /opt/local/bin/dashdesigner \
    /opt/local/share/MegaTunix


And then done the git install instructions in the Ubuntu installation thread. No errors appear during compile/install.

Re: Blank Black Gauges

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 am
by djandruczyk
therecklessengineer wrote:Ok, this is the error I get from a git install:

Code: Select all
megatunix: error while loading shared libraries: libmtxcommon.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


I've removed the previous installation using:

Code: Select all
sudo rm -rf /usr/local/bin/megatunix \
    /usr/local/bin/gaugedesigner \
    /usr/local/bin/dashdesigner \
    /usr/local/share/MegaTunix \
    /opt/local/bin/megatunix \
    /opt/local/bin/gaugedesigner \
    /opt/local/bin/dashdesigner \
    /opt/local/share/MegaTunix


And then done the git install instructions in the Ubuntu installation thread. No errors appear during compile/install.


OK, theres a missing step in the thread I guess, but its IS in the INSTALL file in the source..

sudo ldconfig # <-- required for MegaTunix to work

Run "sudo ldconfig" and it should work properly now.

Re: Blank Black Gauges

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:24 am
by therecklessengineer
She lives!

I had seen that command, but read it as idconfig - which resulted in an error.

Just in case anyone else has the same problem, it's a lowercase L on the front!

Thanks very much!