Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Thu May 31, 2012 8:30 pm

Hi, I've been having a recurring issue that keeps me from staying connected to the MS3 ECU. I open TS and it initially connects to MS, but then times out after ~5sec. I found today after trying it on another computer that there are no connection issues until I start playing with various different features of TS and then burning to the ecu. The first time it started timing out was when i attempted an injector test. Today it started timing out with the new comp when i attempted to change a setting on the fan control feature. Has anyone else run into this same problem and fixed it? I'm starting to run out of computers. Thanks.
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby LT401Vette » Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:44 am

What are you using for your connection to the MegaSquirt?
It sounds like you have a poor quality cable.

Here is some info that might help:
http://www.tunerstudio.com/index.php/fa ... nnectivity
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8218
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:36 am

I'm using the usb cable supplied by DIYAUTOTUNE. The cable was my first assumption, but it works fine until i start burning things, then will time out like clockwork. After I install TS on a new computer, it works fine again.....then the timeout issue starts again after I start burning....which makes me feel as if it's software. I'm no electrical engineer though. Oh, and I installed Megatune and it has the same problem.
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby LT401Vette » Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:48 am

Try using the adapter without the usb extension. Plug the adapter directly into the usb port.
The diy adapter always seems to work well, but the extension cable does sometimes cause issues.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8218
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Fri Jun 01, 2012 7:07 am

I'm not using an adapter. I have this.
ms3tunecable_med.jpg
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby LT401Vette » Fri Jun 01, 2012 7:33 am

Ok, that is different... perhaps a look at your there is another factor at play here.

Can you post your TunerStudioAppDebug or TunerStudioLogFile?

What version TunerStudio are you using?
what version firmware?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8218
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:20 pm

TS 1.006
1.05 then 1.06 beta firmware

Entire Tunerstudio log attached. I've only configured the ECU so far. Haven't had a chance to start the engine yet. thanks.
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby LT401Vette » Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:06 am

2 things to try:
1) set the "Latency Timer" setting in the FTDI Drivers advanced settings to 1 (default is 16)

2) Try the Beta TunerStudio 1.51, it should also take care of this with the driver setting at the default.

However doing #1 will give you faster comms performance any time using an FTDI driver for comms.

To do #1 on Windows 7:
- Click Start
- Right Click on "Computer"
- Select "Manage"
- When "Computer Manager" Opens, select "Device Manager"
- Expand the "Ports" node on the tree
- Find the node under Ports "USB Serial Port (COMMX)" with X being the port your MS is normally on.
- Right Click that node.
- Select "Properties"
- Click the "Port Settings" Tab
- Click "Advanced"

Finally you should be looking at the FTDI Advanced Settings Dialog, there will be a drop down in the "BM Options" section called "Latency Timer (msec)", set that 1

Changing that will give you 3-4 reads / sec more and typically solves the type of drop out you are having.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8218
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:02 am

Thanks Phil. I changed the latency timer and rebooted, but it would not connect at all after that. I then started tunerstudio and changed the data rate from max to 1sec, fired up the ecu, and it connected and has maintained coms. I bumped the data rate up to 25/sec...hopefully it stays working well. Also, I tried dloading beta from the TS site and it sends me to a dead link. Thanks again for the advice!
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:06 am

I spoke too soon. It disconnected again after about 5 minutes, then when i reset the ecu, recognized again but lost coms after ~5sec again. Also, the battery voltage creeps up and TS consistently loses the connection at battery voltage of 18.9v everytime. Engine is not running, battery is at a steady 12.2v, and i've tried various ground scenarios with no change. I don't know if this is related, but it seems to also be an issue.
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:09 am

also creeps up (battery voltage) in megatune, so i guess its a hardware issue? anyone have this problem before?
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby racingmini_mtl » Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:12 pm

Check to see if the 5V supply remains at 5V and if any component heats up, mainly F1 and U5.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:38 pm

3.7v between pin 26 and various grounds. could this be the issue? it put out 5v a few months ago, right after i built it. No overheating.
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby racingmini_mtl » Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:20 pm

It's definitely a problem. Check what voltage you see on pins 1 and 20 of the CPU.

The chips on the board are rated for 5V and they will stop working if the voltage goes too low. You need to check the board for anything that gets hot or any bad solder joint. You might want to take pictures of the board on both sides and post them. You might also want to contact your vendor.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:27 pm

2.35v between the two. what should i be seeing? i'll crack everything apart tomorrow, inspect and take pics. I had an electronics tech look over the board before installing though and he gave it a green light.
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:16 pm

Powered up the board with it out of the case today and no ms3x card. 5v source is now 3.9v....F1 was about 90F, however U5 got REALLY HOT, up to about 150F. Is U5 likely faulty or could it be some other issue? Photos of both sides of the mainboard attached.
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:31 pm

just did some reading on causes of u5 overheating....looks like d12 shorted out. what would be the cause for this?
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby racingmini_mtl » Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:00 pm

D12 would not cause U5 to heat up. The most likely culprit would be a failed D19. Lift up one of the legs to see if that corrects the issue. And I don't see anything obviously wrong with the board.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby cossy » Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:22 pm

Youre saying disconnect D19 and check the voltage regulator? I checked all the diodes on my board...lots of diodes are shorted out. D24, D21, D19, D10, D26, D3, and D17 are all shorted. What could be causing them to burn out?
cossy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Tunerstudio loses connection to MS

Postby racingmini_mtl » Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:36 pm

It is very difficult to check them in circuit. I very much doubt that they are all shorted.

So yes, disconnect D9 and recheck the voltage regulator.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Next

Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest