TunerStudio on Android?

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:20 am

Quan-Time wrote:ive halted my code stuff until i see what JustinHoMi has done. If nothing is posted up soon, ill just finish what i started.

AS for price, as with most things i do, it will be FOSS (free, open source software). Full code will be provided to those who ask in case they want to tweak it / bug fix it, etc..

Point is, i KNOW now its possible to do. And i honestly suspect anythnig with a 2.0+ BT chipset will do it, 2.1+ would be nicer as it has a better paired key exchange. No huge deal, but something to look out for on the compatibility side of things. Theres not many 2.1+ dongles around, so id probably be aiming at 2.0+EDR.
With that theres also 2 options..
Image
Image

These are both linked from sparkfun, so credit to them for the pics. The top one would require some hacking to get it into your MS unit. Its a 1.8v - 3.3v power, and more of a dev thing. The beauty of this solution is total integration, its ALWAYS there / powered on if the MS unit is on, and you can still use your normal RS232 cable + laptop / whatever if you wish.. So you could technically log with BOTH devices (android phone + laptop) at the same time.
With just a dongle, you would have to leave it on, and you would need to power it some how. One way ive thought of is getting a 3.5mm stereo jack, and making a short break out wire to power the sucker. So this still requires some level of modding your MS unit, BUT if you were able to assemble it, im sure you can do this.


I just purchased the dongle - you shouldn't need to do any hacking, other than maybe what's outlined in the megasquirt/bluetooth guide. on V3.0 boards there is already power at pin 9.
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:31 am

is there any documentation on MS3 serial commands? Same/similar as MS2?
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:38 am

the sparkfun bluetooth adapter should work with any MS based on a V3.0 board or later, no mods required. Plug it in and go.

Tested it out on my phone just to be sure (don't have a BT adapter for my laptop yet).
Image
Image
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby jnovak » Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:24 am

That looks easy enough. I assume you sent the command to read back the code variant.

How did you send the command?
squirted Suby ej20TT powered 1975 Porsche 914 track car - The Dirty Penny
big motor, mid engine and a whole lotta' fun.
jnovak
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:54 pm

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:07 pm

I just typed "Q" and "S"

the hardware is there, and the code is mostly there (the terminal I used was built from the google sample apps). now we just need 2 + 2 = 4 :D
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby LT401Vette » Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:57 pm

It is in the works :)
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby rx7_ben » Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:57 pm

This looks promising! I can't wait! I wish I had something to input...
rx7_ben
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:22 pm

I tested on MS3 and it works as well

at the very least I'll probably hard install it in the car (mounted somewhere, not cantilevered off the serial port) and stop using the USB/serial cable with my laptop..
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby Karlos G » Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:38 am

Just seen this and cant wait!!
Will/Does the PC version of TS also support BT Serial ports? My netbook that I use for mapping has built in BT, so dongle up my MS2 ECU (or fit one inside) and I can literally just fire up the Netbook and I would be connected!! :D

Great work thanks!!
Karl
For Mobile DJ's & AV installs I recommend http://www.frenzyentertainmentservices.co.uk Top lads!
Karlos G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:35 pm

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:49 am

it should work; TS would see it as a serial port, it wouldn't know it was going through bluetooth.
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby Karlos G » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:28 am

hassmaschine wrote:it should work; TS would see it as a serial port, it wouldn't know it was going through bluetooth.

Thats what I was thinking! :D

So if I bought one of these.. http://www.active-robots.com/products/r ... odem.shtml and wired it into my MS2 in parallel with the existing serial socket I should be good to go?

Matching up the pins on this diagram..
Image

With the pins on the Bluesmirf schematic (http://www.active-robots.com/products/r ... Ant-v1.pdf)..
Image

Is that correct?

Cheers!
Karl.
For Mobile DJ's & AV installs I recommend http://www.frenzyentertainmentservices.co.uk Top lads!
Karlos G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:35 pm

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:38 am

yes, but keep in mind:
Do not attach this device directly to a serial port. You will need an RS232 to TTL converter circuit if you need to attach this to a computer.
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby Karlos G » Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:19 am

Oh I hadnt noticed that! What does it mean exactly?

Karl
For Mobile DJ's & AV installs I recommend http://www.frenzyentertainmentservices.co.uk Top lads!
Karlos G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:35 pm

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:26 am

the voltage of the signals are different and I think inverse. the max232 just makes them compatible with the voltages that MS expects.

the adapter I got has it all built in, which was part of the appeal to me - but it would be nice to have something mounted inside the case (assuming the case doesn't block the signal!)
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby Karlos G » Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:41 am

So use one of these .... http://www.sparkfun.com/products/449 and wire that in parallel with the serial port.
I also thought about the case blocking the signal, it will certainly have an effect but how much who knows? lol
For Mobile DJ's & AV installs I recommend http://www.frenzyentertainmentservices.co.uk Top lads!
Karlos G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:35 pm

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby hassmaschine » Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:14 am

yes exactly

I don't know about it blocking the signal either - I have no plans on tuning 100 feet away from my car. :p
hassmaschine
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 8:36 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby y8s » Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:45 am

hassmaschine wrote:the voltage of the signals are different and I think inverse. the max232 just makes them compatible with the voltages that MS expects.

the adapter I got has it all built in, which was part of the appeal to me - but it would be nice to have something mounted inside the case (assuming the case doesn't block the signal!)


I'd suggest the MAX233A as a minor upgrade to reduce external part count. MAXIM will sample a handful for free for you.
y8s
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:21 pm

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby jnovak » Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:27 pm

Just an FYI.

Here is the Bluetooth - Serial adapter.
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8495

The serial terminal is Called BlueTerm on the Android Market.
squirted Suby ej20TT powered 1975 Porsche 914 track car - The Dirty Penny
big motor, mid engine and a whole lotta' fun.
jnovak
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:54 pm

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby piledriver » Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:19 pm

There are some tablets coming on the market running Maemo (linux), Suns(oracles) JVM is available for Maemo.
(Maemo==Intels smartphone/tablet Linux distro)

Many of the tablets/phones have had Ubuntu or such ported as well, they would also run TS out of the box.

What would the command sequence be to simply grab data for logging and stuff it in a series of timestamped files?
Sounds like a bash script is all that's needed, a line or so of perl at most.

It would be handy to be able to tweak settings via a handheld if a CHT sensor died or such, but I could imagine going blind quickly.
(perl does run on android)

The ithings would be the only ones needing a program written.
(...perl runs on ios as well...)

Also, AFAICT, the same MS serial commands are used on CAN so...
http://www.honeysw.com/canproject.php
Always doing things the hard way, MS2 sequential w/ v1.01 mainboard, LS2 coils. 80 mile/day commuter status.
piledriver
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:24 am

Re: TunerStudio on Android?

Postby racingmini_mtl » Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:14 am

piledriver wrote:Also, AFAICT, the same MS serial commands are used on CAN so...
http://www.honeysw.com/canproject.php

The CAN commands can basically do the same thing as the serial commands but their format is completely different. And the MS CAN protocol is not compatible with the CAN protocol used by OEM or other automotive products. So the device shown in your link would be useless with MS (which is why I'm making my own).

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6043
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest