The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby benckj » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:24 pm

The other consideration is to offer people "image packs" where they can create/design their own dash using some pre-made backgrounds and indicators
I'd be keen for this. Just finding it too difficult and time consuming to create a dash from scratch. Would be very nice to have some decent templates to work from especially if they were simplified for the common user.

jim
benckj
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby RGNHD » Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:27 am

Hey guys,

I am now working on my gague cluster that I am going to use for my 5.3 swapped 240sx.
The plan is to use a tablet. I actually bought one off of amazon with both Windows and Android so I can test both options.
The plan is to design a gauge cluster interface like the NX1600 digital cluster. I used to have one in my car and I am missing it.
I have started to make the background for the cluster fairly easily however I want to be able to make the center RPM gauge a fully functional gauge without having to overlay a gauge on top of a background image.
Does anyone know if it's possible for me to be able to make my own .gauge file or how I can modify an existing one?
Here's a NX1600 cluster for reference on what I'm working on.
Image


I love Tuner Studio however my only complaint with the gauges is they make my car feel tacky.
They look to flat and have no volume.
RGNHD
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:02 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby beavis » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:07 pm

Wow that NX1600 dash design looks well beyond its time... maybe its different in real life, but that pic makes it look very good for a car thats over 20yr old.
Yes the car on the outside looks so dorky :)
beavis
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:39 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby RGNHD » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:38 pm

beavis wrote:Wow that NX1600 dash design looks well beyond its time... maybe its different in real life, but that pic makes it look very good for a car thats over 20yr old.
Yes the car on the outside looks so dorky :)


It very much was so before it's time and it's so odd that it came in such a unwanted car.
Needless to say I'm wanting to bring this gauge to all TS users.
RGNHD
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:02 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby LT401Vette » Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:25 am

Should be able to add a gauge renderer that would do quite a good job looking like that.

For less flat gauges, in TS 3 you can use images for all gauge faces and needles, that allows you to put any sort of shading or depth you can come up with in photoshop or gimp.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10022
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby RGNHD » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:42 am

LT401Vette wrote:Should be able to add a gauge renderer that would do quite a good job looking like that.

For less flat gauges, in TS 3 you can use images for all gauge faces and needles, that allows you to put any sort of shading or depth you can come up with in photoshop or gimp.


How could I go about adding a gauge renderer for this?

In terms of creating images I can easily re-create these in Photoshop for my needs. I'm just working on wrapping my head around recreating the .gauge files to specifically be able to have these are their own specific gauge file that can be added to any cluster configuration separately without having to modify a pre-made background image.
RGNHD
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:02 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby LT401Vette » Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:20 am

How could I go about adding a gauge renderer for this?


You cannot :-(.

That we have to add.

the .gauge files just hold the attributes set and renderer/style used.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10022
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby beavis » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:27 am

Here's a new one I'm working on with some inspiration from the Prancing Horse.

I think after this one is done I will look at a Hellcat style dash.... and then maybe something japanese... Nissan GTR inspired perhaps?

If you've got any cars/designs you would like to see, please let me know.

Image
beavis
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:39 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby RGNHD » Wed Oct 26, 2016 7:12 pm

Hey guys I made some progess on the NX1600 cluster today.
Here is what I have so far.

Image
RGNHD
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:02 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby beavis » Thu Oct 27, 2016 3:22 am

That dash has very nice lines and a real modern yet simplistic look....
beavis
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:39 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby beavis » Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:33 am

Well I think the Ferrari style dash is done. I re-used some of the indicators I had in my arsenal from the past.
The thing I like with this dash is the custom needle.... so sexy :)

Image
beavis
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:39 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby RGNHD » Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:58 am

I'm digging that Ferrari dash, it looks really good!
RGNHD
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:02 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby benckj » Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:38 pm

The dash displays just get better and better. Wish I could get my mechanical work completed so I can start playing with gauge display. Maybe this summer!
benckj
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby benckj » Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:18 am

Well I'm about to throw in the towel even before I get my new gauge display completed. The reason , tablet boot up time.

To put another way, every device I've used has to be turned on and then wait until its brains are all sorted before SD can be run and connected to MS. What I want is something like CAN bus but at completely configurable and a fraction of the cost. Since my 2 seater MR2 had limited cabin space I've even considered a double din Android head unit that will automatically display gauge's.

Am I dreaming or just mad? Surely there must be a solution for the common man.

Jim
benckj
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby Laminar » Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:47 am

Do you have to power the tablet off? You could leave it plugged in and ensure settings are such that standby power usage is in the realm of 10s of milliamps. By enabling airplane mode, turning off location monitoring, killing all of the useless background apps, and maybe even using something like Deep Sleep to reduce power consumption it would be possible to just leave the tablet powered up so that all it has to do is reestablish a connection with the ECU.
Laminar
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:45 am

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby BigBlockMopar » Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:38 pm

Just started playing with MS and TunerStudio and started making my own dash as well.
Still need to decide what buttons in the lower bar I want to keep and turn into more realistic lights later on.
Probably will change the layout too.


Image
Daily driver: 1973 Dodge Dart - 318ci engine / MS3x - ignition only for now.
A518 OD transmission / 3.55 rearaxle gears.
More toys on my site: https://www.bigblockmopar.nl/
User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:10 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby benckj » Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:34 pm

Laminar wrote:Do you have to power the tablet off? You could leave it plugged in and ensure settings are such that standby power usage is in the realm of 10s of milliamps. By enabling airplane mode, turning off location monitoring, killing all of the useless background apps, and maybe even using something like Deep Sleep to reduce power consumption it would be possible to just leave the tablet powered up so that all it has to do is reestablish a connection with the ECU.

I've tried to leave tablet on but even with good battery it doesn't last more than 24hrs. I also struggle to connect with MS once tablet has gone to sleep so must re-boot SD. Maybe a better tablet or modifying software would help as you suggest. If I drove car every day or even few times a week that may work but car is more of a fun weekend runner when weather is good.

Thanks for the tips that I'll look into. Wonder if anyone has used a dedicated HU for gauge display?

Jim
benckj
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby Laminar » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:43 pm

benckj wrote:
Laminar wrote:Maybe a better tablet or modifying software would help as you suggest. If I drove car every day or even few times a week that may work but car is more of a fun weekend runner when weather is good.
Jim


Can you wire the tablet so that it's always powered, even when the car is off? If the car is started at least a few times a month it shouldn't be a problem on the car's battery.
Laminar
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:45 am

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby benckj » Wed Jan 04, 2017 10:35 am

Could do with direct wire but need to butcher my power cord and add a resistor. Not sure if leaving on all the time will sort run time as it still goes to sleep after defined period. Might have to experiment some more.
benckj
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

Re: The official "Post your custom-from-scratch dash" thread

Postby benckj » Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:02 pm

Are there any head units which run Android WiFi that could be used for Shadow dash display? The Wifi enables Apps & games to be downloaded onto device.

Technology seems to be moving quickly and being able to supply a head unit capable of running SD & gauge display must be on the horizon. Can someone tell me why a HU like the one below would not work?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/7-Andro ... 87bf9003e0

Ulitimately I'd like a HU which ran Windows and could run TS so tuning was possible. This one would work but $689 is still a bit steep considering a basic laptop tablet can be used for a fraction of the cost and this comes as a kit without CPU, RAM, etc. Basic complete unit is closer to the $1100 mark.

http://e3io.com/2din-carputer-a4-barebone

jim
benckj
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests