MS3X output port channels

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

MS3X output port channels

Postby WestfieldMX5 » Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:20 pm

Could someone point me to a list of the output port channels for MS3X, specifically P2 to P6 (nitrous1/2, VVT, idle etc)?
I've looked in the MS3X manuals and tunerstudio help but can't seem to find it.
'09 Westfield SEiW with '00 MX5 1.8 - 6sp - Torsen - MSM turbo - MS3 Pro - 3kg/hp
User avatar
WestfieldMX5
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:46 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby SymTech Laboratories » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:47 pm

Is the information you're looking for in this table?

http://www.msextra.com/doc/ms3/hardware.html#pins
SymTech Laboratories, LLC ----- MSQ File Repository: megasquirt.symtechlabs.com
Image
SymTech Laboratories
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby WestfieldMX5 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:29 am

Don't think so. I would like to add some indicators for those outputs in Tunerstudio, but I don't know what the names of the output channels are in Tunerstudio.
'09 Westfield SEiW with '00 MX5 1.8 - 6sp - Torsen - MSM turbo - MS3 Pro - 3kg/hp
User avatar
WestfieldMX5
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:46 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby jsmcortina » Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:01 am

f_devocht wrote:] I would like to add some indicators for those outputs in Tunerstudio, but I don't know what the names of the output channels are in Tunerstudio.

There aren't any, that's why you can't find them.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK.

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28483
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby kizzoalfa » Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:26 pm

jsmcortina wrote:
f_devocht wrote:] I would like to add some indicators for those outputs in Tunerstudio, but I don't know what the names of the output channels are in Tunerstudio.

There aren't any, that's why you can't find them.

James


James,

does it possible to add them? I would use them for my display module to show like the status of my PA7 - InjH output.

For example, I would use the PA7 to drive my Water Intercooler pump, but currently I can not see when it is running. I can measure the temperature of the cooling water by some of the spare ADC ports and display it on my display module -- it is part of the burst as well what I use - but cannot monitor the output port. I can switch the PA7 based on the water temperature but can not see when it is activated.

If there is a chance to get it implemented, does it possible to add the output port channels bit value into some byte variable and make it part of the burst stream what is sent for the famous command 'A' ?

Thank you.

Zoltan
---------------------------------------------------------------
Alfa Romeo 75 2.0, Supercharged by Eaton M45, MS3
kizzoalfa
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Szombathely, HUNGARY

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby kizzoalfa » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:54 am

kizzoalfa wrote:
jsmcortina wrote:
f_devocht wrote:] I would like to add some indicators for those outputs in Tunerstudio, but I don't know what the names of the output channels are in Tunerstudio.

There aren't any, that's why you can't find them.

James


James,

does it possible to add them? I would use them for my display module to show like the status of my PA7 - InjH output.

For example, I would use the PA7 to drive my Water Intercooler pump, but currently I can not see when it is running. I can measure the temperature of the cooling water by some of the spare ADC ports and display it on my display module -- it is part of the burst as well what I use - but cannot monitor the output port. I can switch the PA7 based on the water temperature but can not see when it is activated.

If there is a chance to get it implemented, does it possible to add the output port channels bit value into some byte variable and make it part of the burst stream what is sent for the famous command 'A' ?

Thank you.

Zoltan


Phil, James, does it possible to develop this into the upcoming releases?

Thank you.

Zoltan
---------------------------------------------------------------
Alfa Romeo 75 2.0, Supercharged by Eaton M45, MS3
kizzoalfa
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Szombathely, HUNGARY

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby kizzoalfa » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:55 am

kizzoalfa wrote:
jsmcortina wrote:
f_devocht wrote:] I would like to add some indicators for those outputs in Tunerstudio, but I don't know what the names of the output channels are in Tunerstudio.

There aren't any, that's why you can't find them.

James


James,

does it possible to add them? I would use them for my display module to show like the status of my PA7 - InjH output.

For example, I would use the PA7 to drive my Water Intercooler pump, but currently I can not see when it is running. I can measure the temperature of the cooling water by some of the spare ADC ports and display it on my display module -- it is part of the burst as well what I use - but cannot monitor the output port. I can switch the PA7 based on the water temperature but can not see when it is activated.

If there is a chance to get it implemented, does it possible to add the output port channels bit value into some byte variable and make it part of the burst stream what is sent for the famous command 'A' ?

Thank you.

Zoltan


Phil, James, does it possible to develop this into the upcoming releases?

Thank you.

Zoltan
---------------------------------------------------------------
Alfa Romeo 75 2.0, Supercharged by Eaton M45, MS3
kizzoalfa
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Szombathely, HUNGARY

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby LT401Vette » Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:09 am

For TunerStudio this would be an update to the ini, if James made the change to the firmware.
There is always some concern with adding any field to the runtime reads, it is quite large now, the large it gets the slower the data rate will be.
But it is really up to the firmware guys.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8378
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby Morten VJ » Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:59 am

Would it be possible for TS. to emulate those outputs.
I mean it reads the ini, and understands the msq.
So if all the conditions are met, let it show the output on port X.
This could be done to all none importent outputs.
Making the datastream faster.
Volvo 245 turbo
B 23 et engine
MSnS-E hires 10g
User avatar
Morten VJ
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: denmark

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby LT401Vette » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:45 am

In cases where you are driving a generic port based on conditions you could make your own OutputChannel to replicate the logic you set. But you would want to remember that that indicator only represents it meeting the conditions you intended, it does not really mean it is on.

i.e. If you have PA7 set to go on when coolant goes over 160, you can make an OutpuChannel:

pa7On = { coolant > 16 }

However, there is probably going to be a hysterisis set, there would be little visibility of that.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8378
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: MS3X output port channels

Postby kizzoalfa » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:33 pm

Phil,

As I see you need only like 2 bytes to display 16 output status. I do not hink it really slow down your process.

James what do you think it it feasible to have this in the next release?

Thanks,

Zoltan
---------------------------------------------------------------
Alfa Romeo 75 2.0, Supercharged by Eaton M45, MS3
kizzoalfa
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Szombathely, HUNGARY


Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron