VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby 16vboost » Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:50 pm

I've been having problems with VE analyze live lately. It seems to take forever to make its calculations. For example, after a 10 minute drive it will take 5 minutes or so to catch up and finish tuning. During this time the CPU is pegged at 100%.

The computer is an old Dell laptop with a P4, 1.7Ghz, 1GB of ram. It has run VE analyze live just fine in the past, before upgrading to V1.006. I've since upgraded to the latest beta v1.21 and have the same results. I can't say for sure that the upgrade caused this behavior but I think the timing is right. I don't think the computer has gotten any slower in fact I've un-installed a bunch of programs since having this problem.

I'm running a built-in serial port btw. No USB or bluetooth.

I've searched and searched but can't find anything that would help.

Any suggestions?

-Alex
User avatar
16vboost
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:10 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby LT401Vette » Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:16 pm

That laptop is old, but a 1.7GHz P4 _should_ work fine, like you said it did in the past.

1.006 is no different from 1.004, that is why there was no auto update. There were only 2 changes:
- Added ini files for current firmware like MS2Extra 3.2.1
- 1 change to support ini file selection groups. That was a 2 line code change.

You can install 1.004 again to try, but I highly doubt it would make difference.

It probably is worth thinking through anything else that might have changed on the laptop. In Task Manager is any other process using significant CPU power?
Any JRE changes? Windows Updates? Adware?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8276
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby 16vboost » Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:28 pm

I don't know what version of TS I was running when it worked. The car hadn't moved in about 8 months so TS was probably at least that old. When I run VE analyse in MegalogViewer, it runs just fine. The same 10 minute drive will only take about 1 minute at most to complete.

Looking at task manager reveals that TS is using over 90% of the CPU when it's running VE Analyze Live. I know it's impossible to trouble shoot the computer and this may well be a computer problem, but everything else the computer runs is good. There's only 27 processes running in the background.

Does TS use Java? Should I upgrade that? I'm tempted to reformat but would rather not.

-Alex
User avatar
16vboost
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:10 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby LT401Vette » Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:37 pm

Yes, TunerStudio uses Java. Any Java 1.5 plus should be fine on Windows.

1.004 was the stable release since last June, that is why I was guessing that was what you were using prior.

Does minimizing it make a difference? (Thinking Video Driver)

How much CPU is it using while just running and connected to the computer?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8276
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby LT401Vette » Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:45 pm

Maybe check the TunerStudioAppDebug.txt(ver 1.21) or TunerStudioLogFile.txt(ver 1.006)

there might be some sort of error happening, that can cause major slow downs and it should be getting logged. Especially if MLV is working fine, that makes it seem more like there is some sort of error occurring.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8276
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby 16vboost » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:22 pm

I'll have to get to the car to answer the questions about CPU usage while connected and not VE analyzing. I'll try minimizing it too.

As for the errors. I'm not really sure what I'm looking at. I do have some programming experience but I'm not familiar with TS on this level.

I do see a good amount of "2/9/12 9:37:13 AM :Debug: filtering record, no historic table close enough." throughout the log. I've attached them for reference. There also seem to be some communications issues. I'm not sure if that's due to the beater laptop that I'm using.

Thanks for the help so far.
-Alex
User avatar
16vboost
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:10 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby LT401Vette » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:06 am

There does seem to be some sort of comms drop out, I wonder if that is related.

How much RAM is on the PC.. I don't see any Out of memory errors, but was wondering if it is swapping.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8276
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby msegt » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:03 am

before i got this dell d830 2.2ghz 4 gigs ram , i was running on an old dell c610 1.2 ghz 1 gig of ram and it would tune fine, it never took that long, and always did what it was supposed to. i did notice it seems to tune better or faster now. but i never had the problems your talking about when i was on one slower...
95 escort gt BPT - MS2E/ms2extra pre3.3alpha5 gslender v2.8 - E85 - 256/250 on mustang dyno at 10psi, now tuning for gtr turbo
msegt
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:10 pm
Location: boston,ny

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby 16vboost » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:32 pm

Mine is a 1.7Ghz with 1 gig of ram.

So I just checked how much CPU TunerStudio uses while idle (no VE analyze) and just connected to MS. It's up between 82% and 92% CPU usage! When not connected to MS, it only uses between 0-1% CPU. Something is up with the serial port it seems. I'm not sure what to do now other than re-format the PC and hope.

-Alex
User avatar
16vboost
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:10 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby LT401Vette » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:52 pm

There are serial issue in the log, but the CPU usage could also be a video driver problem.
When you aren't connected, there isn't much painting going on, while you are connected all the gauges and tables and graphs attempt to repaint with every update, until the throttles slow them down... i.e, the Main Dash isn't allowed to use more than about 35-40% CPU or it slows how many paints/sec are done.

VE Analyze it self should not take much CPU power. Screen paints are usually the culprit, best to worst video drivers can make a 100 times speed difference.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8276
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby 16vboost » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:24 pm

You're 100% right. To test the video card issue I turned on demo mode while not connected. With all the gauges moving, the CPU pegged at 100% again. Minimizing the app with demo mode still going on brings the CPU usage to 12%. This is without anti-aliasing.

Believe it or not this dino laptop has a 1600x1200 display, which is what I run it at. Changing to 800x600 resolution allows me to run demo mode at full screen with anti-aliasing while only using about 85% CPU. Without anti-aliasing it goes down to 65%.

So besides running a lower resolution, is there any other solution? I like to see VE analyze while it works so I can try to hit all parts of my VE map.

-Alex
User avatar
16vboost
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:10 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby LT401Vette » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:42 pm

See what video chipset you have, there may be a better driver.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8276
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: VE Analyze Live maxing out CPU and too slow

Postby 16vboost » Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:48 pm

I found a better driver! I can now run TS maximized (not full screen) and run the gauge demo while only using up about 75% of the CPU. This is at 1600x1200 res. I think the extra 25% CPU will be more than enough to run VE analyze live. I'm also willing to be that most of the COM errors that I had in my log were from my PC being 100% chocked and not being able to respond to the COM port in a timely manner.

Thanks very much!

-Alex :yeah!:
User avatar
16vboost
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:10 pm
Location: Miami, FL


Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests