Composite log?

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Composite log?

Postby JAM » Sun May 06, 2012 6:44 pm

Today i updated my TS to Beta v 1.42 and MS3 firmware pre 1.1 beta 21, both successful.

For some reason I cannot capture a composite log to a file, when i select to capture to a file it appears everything is working but does not save the file.... prior to the updates i had no problem, any advice?
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Mon May 07, 2012 6:27 am

It seems Ok here... I might need to see your TunerStudioAppDebug.txt to see if there is some sort of error occurring.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Mon May 07, 2012 9:33 am

Ok, I may be doing something wrong. I was looking for the proceedure to capture the log and could not find it. Something seemed a little off when I could not see the log until i toggled the render button a couple of times and then it would show up. I also tried both ways of clicking the capture log button before and after the start/stop sequence. after i would click save there was still no file in the folder, tried different folders etc.

How/where do i get the TunerStudioAppDebug.txt ?
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Mon May 07, 2012 11:42 am

If working right, it should capture the log no matter what order you do it in.
Start the composite logger then check the "Capture to log file" box or check the box first, then log.

The TunerStudioAppDebug.txt file would be in your TunerStudioProjects folder.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Tue May 08, 2012 8:55 am

This may be a bad sign but it is to big to attach :?
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Tue May 08, 2012 9:05 am

They get big...

There are things you can do.

delete it, then start TS and try to capture a composite log to a file. If it doesn't work, that will have just the info I'm looking for and save a lot of sorting through.

Or zip it and email it to p_tobin <at> yahoo . com
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Wed May 09, 2012 12:12 pm

Lets try this, let me know if you see anything odd, thanks!
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Wed May 09, 2012 12:18 pm

No Errors in there, but that file is from March 21 running TunerStudio version 1.21
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Wed May 09, 2012 12:37 pm

your right, grabbed from the wrong project :oops:

lets try again

TunerStudioAppDebug.txt
(310.32 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Wed May 09, 2012 12:46 pm

I'm not seeing anything to indicate a problem in there either :(
It does look like you were running multiple instances of TunerStudio there though. Were you getting the prompt that another instance is running?

You did attempt to capture a Composite Log?
Is the Composite Log data displaying on the screen while you are capturing it? Then just no File?
Do you see the data in the Text Area on the left?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Wed May 09, 2012 12:58 pm

at one point i tried to reopen the program(i have been investigating vr output) so that is prob what you see (dang its like big brother file lol, cant hide my stupidity lol)

it does not display on screen at all unless i try and toggle that render button a few times and then it will show up but still not capture. it seems like i do not see data on left, makes me wonder if what eventually pops up on the graph is really a current log
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Wed May 09, 2012 1:03 pm

Ok, I was misunderstanding you then... I though you were seeing the composite log, it just was not capturing to a file.

It sounds almost like it is just timing out. When you start the composite logger, it waits for the firmware to tell TS that a page is ready to read, the firmware sends that signal when the data page is full. If TS never gets the green light after 10 or 15 seconds it times out and reads what ever is there.

Is the engine running? Are you sure there should be good log data?
What sort of wheel are you running?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Wed May 09, 2012 1:11 pm

LT401Vette wrote:Ok, I was misunderstanding you then... I though you were seeing the composite log, it just was not capturing to a file.

It sounds almost like it is just timing out. When you start the composite logger, it waits for the firmware to tell TS that a page is ready to read, the firmware sends that signal when the data page is full. If TS never gets the green light after 10 or 15 seconds it times out and reads what ever is there.

Is the engine running? Are you sure there should be good log data?
What sort of wheel are you running?

Ok, I see....

well, its not running..... that is the problem, i was having all kinds of nasty backfire problems with timing wandering all over the place. I was logging problems during cranking (it worked then) and found noise on the cranking crank VR. james has walked me through this and i think i am closer to running. I will give it another try

viewtopic.php?f=131&t=44838&p=321539#p321539
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Wed May 09, 2012 4:28 pm

when i start the composite log the tab flashes, and when i stop it the tab flashes.( i assume this is the standard indicator that shows the log is starting/stop)
I am not getting any numbers in data view when trying to log composite. I do get numbers when in trigger log mode but it still will not save to a file.

I am still just cranking to look for sync loss and getting ready to start, but it gave good data in the past when i did this. I tried cranking directly after starting the log, starting the log while cranking etc. with no results logged

what is all the criteria to log composite, is there a min rpm? certain amount of events before it will start?
I went ahead and updated TS to current

here is current debug,
TunerStudioAppDebug.txt
(489.78 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

There is no criteria in TunerStudio. The firmware logs the data, TunerStudio reads it and renders what ever data comes back..
What shows up in the Text Area on the left?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Fri May 11, 2012 11:47 am

I must be doing something wrong, I reloaded pre21, I have the most current tuner studio, and still no numbers in the dataview during cranking? so no composite log.....
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Fri May 11, 2012 11:56 am

From what you are saying, I think there is no composite log because the MS isn't getting a readable signal.

Is it displaying any RPM while cranking?

The data TS is capturing is not the actual analog data from the sensor, it is the data logged by the firmware. So if the firmware is not seeing any cross overs, it will not capture anything.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Fri May 11, 2012 12:08 pm

yes, there is an rpm signal that shows up on the gauge in tunerstudio.... but since the car will not run correctly maybe this is part of the problem, but the confusing thing is that it logged before. here is a screenshot of what i was getting while cranking on the VR output jumper with GM7x trigger, james said it looked good. (once i try to actually start it again and not just crank, it falls apart). the signal was really bad until i turned r56 in cw 1 turn
Test 2 4200 cranking stereo in_out 5_9_12 (R56 1 turn CW).PNG
Test 2 4200 cranking stereo in_out 5_9_12 (R56 1 turn CW).PNG (49.83 KiB) Viewed 309 times
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Fri May 11, 2012 12:12 pm

If you are getting RPM's, the MS must be seeing something.

Are you getting absolutely no data at all in TunerStudio?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7777
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Fri May 11, 2012 12:15 pm

correct, nothing shows up in the dataview tab or the graphing portion while trying to log composite.
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Next

Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests