TS dashboards and shadow dash

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby jkrueger » Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:37 pm

Is there a way to download custom made dashes from Tuner studio to shadow dash?

TS version: 3.0 on a MAC
shadow Dash version: 1.34
Android version on tablet: 4.0.4

Thanks

JC
"No matter where you go, there you are."
jkrueger
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Ft Worth, TX

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby hobieboy » Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:40 pm

As far as I understand, ShadowDash cannot support TS3.0.x dashboard yet... That's why I kept my TS at 2.9.x on at least 1 machine.
hobieboy
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 1:13 pm
Location: Up North

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby jkrueger » Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:48 pm

Will it work with 2.9? I still have that as well. Where do I move the .dash file to on the android tablet?

JC
"No matter where you go, there you are."
jkrueger
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Ft Worth, TX

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby jkrueger » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:01 pm

Well, now that the new version of TS is out my old version won't open any more.

So first, is it possible to transfer dashes? If yes, does anyone know when we will be able to do it with TS 3.0?

JC
"No matter where you go, there you are."
jkrueger
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Ft Worth, TX

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby LT401Vette » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:36 am

That is a priority now to get Shadow Dash up-to-date with TS3 Dashboards.
Hang in there...

In the interim, you may need to keep around an old 2.6 TS if you need to edit SD dashboards.
http://www.efianalytics.com/TunerStudio ... dReleases/

You can extract the tar.gz version to any folder and double click the jar or if you run the installer for windows, make sure to install it to a different directory than the default.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10194
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Manu » Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:28 pm

Hello Phil,

LT401Vette wrote:In the interim, you may need to keep around an old 2.6 TS if you need to edit SD dashboards.
http://www.efianalytics.com/TunerStudio ... dReleases/


Can you please provide us a link to the "Release 2.6.19" setup rather than the "beta" one ?

Cheers,
Manu
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in FRANCE.

Image
https://www.megasquirt.fr
User avatar
Manu
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:57 am
Location: Alès - France

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Brian H EFI » Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:01 am

Here is a download link for 2.6.19 so you can edit your Shadow Dash Dashboards.
http://www.tunerstudio.com/downloads2/T ... 2.6.19.exe
User avatar
Brian H EFI
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:01 pm

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Manu » Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:09 am

Thanks
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in FRANCE.

Image
https://www.megasquirt.fr
User avatar
Manu
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:57 am
Location: Alès - France

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby jkrueger » Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:16 am

Any news if shadow dash will work with TS 3.xxx dashboards yet?

Thanks

JC
"No matter where you go, there you are."
jkrueger
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Ft Worth, TX

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Brian H EFI » Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:24 am

Unfortunately TS 3.0 dashboards still do not work on Shadow Dash. We are making progress and moving up the list of things that need done but are not quite to the Shadow Dash over haul yet.
User avatar
Brian H EFI
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:01 pm

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby jkrueger » Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:51 pm

Any update on this? Will TS 3.xx work with shadow dash yet?

Thanks

JC
"No matter where you go, there you are."
jkrueger
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Ft Worth, TX

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Brian H EFI » Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:25 am

Yes, Shadow Dash v1.5.02 supports TunerStudio 3.xx dashboards now.
User avatar
Brian H EFI
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:01 pm

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby jkrueger » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:13 am

Excellent!

So, to get the dash that I make in TS into shadow dash, do I just copy the .dash file into the folder where Shadow dash stores it's .dash files? Then I will be able to swipe between the dashes???

Thanks for the help and awesome products.

JC
"No matter where you go, there you are."
jkrueger
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Ft Worth, TX

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Brian H EFI » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:29 am

When you transfer your new dash file to your phone or tablet it must be named exactly the same as the dashboard you want it to replace then delete or remove the original dash file and Shadow Dash will load the new dashboard and you will be able to swipe to it.

Here is a link to instructions on transferring your dashboard file to your phone or tablet.
http://www.tunerstudio.com/index.php/ma ... ow-dash-ms
User avatar
Brian H EFI
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:01 pm

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby VWRalf » Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:49 pm

I have spent way too much time trying to get a .dash file to display on my tablet and I can not for the life of me get it to work.
I created a custom dash in TS version MS v3.0.22 and moved it into the dashboard file folder of Shadow Dash MS v1.5.02. I deleted one of the landscape dash files so that I only show 4 files in the dashboard folder.
When I start SD on my tablet, the new dash does not show. When I reconnect my tablet to my computer via USB and take a look at the dashboard folder, the deleted dash file is there again (along with my file).
What the heck am I doing wrong?
VWRalf
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:25 am

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby LT401Vette » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:08 am

The number of files does not matter, the specific naming does.

If a file by the specific name for that dash is not found, it will put the default back.

Make sure windows isn't tricking you by hiding the file extension or something.

Give your dash file the name of the one that comes back.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10194
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby VWRalf » Sun Jul 30, 2017 11:16 am

Had a beer to clear my head and re-read the instructions and figured it out. The name of my file has to be the same as the one I'm replacing.
Now on to my next problem. The gauge needles are no longer in the center of the gauge as they are in Tuner Studio. How do I fix that?
VWRalf
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:25 am

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Brian H EFI » Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:25 am

I am assuming that you are using 2 gauges to make up the one gauge and the needle of the second gauge is offset from its base gauge ? If that is the case I believe the way to fix the offset issue is to resize TunerStudio,s dashboard to be smaller to better match your Phone or Tablet,s aspect ratio.
User avatar
Brian H EFI
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:01 pm

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby benckj » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:00 pm

Can I ask for clarification on something from following this topic?

If I am using an Android 5.1 head unit in the car and want to modify SD gauge display can I simply use a tablet while sitting on my nice couch and then connect with MS controller using same USB FTDI lead to upload display. After this the car HU connects and displays new display?

Just a little unsure where gauge display files are held given the interconnection relationship between device and MS controller.

Jim
MSPNP v2 with 3.57 firmware
FTDI USB interface on SD Android 5.1 head unit
Toyota MR2 98 3sgte
TD05sl2-18g (billet wheel & high flow turbine)
A2W IC
WI with 50/50 meth/water
User avatar
benckj
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

Re: TS dashboards and shadow dash

Postby Brian H EFI » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:11 pm

I would start by taking a look at the link below it will give you the basic run down of how this process works. If you have additional questions let me know.

http://www.tunerstudio.com/index.php/ma ... ow-dash-ms
User avatar
Brian H EFI
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:01 pm

Next

Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest