TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby BigBlockMopar » Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:13 pm

Apple Mac Pro (Early 2009)
OSX Sierra (10.12.3)
TunerStudio MS Ultra v3.0.17


- Startup Tunerstudio.jar
- Open project
- Double click gauges to go fullscreen.
- right away, double click gauges again, to go back. Now, screen 'scrolls away' to the right, showing Finder, or whatever program is running in the background.
TS is still running in the Dock and top menu, but there's no way to get the Tunerstudio screen/window back in view.
- Only seems to show this behavior with the Gauge Cluster tab (I do have a custommade cluster however).
EDIT: Tried with default cluster, same erroneous behavior.

- Only way to get back to TS is to Force Quit TS and restart it.
Daily driver: 1973 Dodge Dart - 318ci engine / MS3x - ignition only for now.
A518 OD transmission / 3.55 rearaxle gears.
More toys on my site: https://www.bigblockmopar.nl/
User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:10 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby David_G » Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:29 pm

I've got the exact same behaviour with an iMac (late 2012) running OSX Sierra 10.12.2 and TunerStudio 3.0.17 as well

Problem didn't exist with the previous TS release.
David_G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:14 am

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby LT401Vette » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:11 pm

I'll have to give this a shot. I recently fixed full screen for Sierra.
For some reason OS X no longer supports the java full screen API's, so I have to use hacks and apple specific API's.

I need a new Mac Book. I use a clam shell core2 duo from 2009. I used to use this as my main tuning laptop, but something happened after the El Capitan update, it is ridiculously slow. The 1st time you start a new Finder it can take 45 seconds to appear. I think the new OS X's just don't like only having 4GB?
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 9966
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby BigBlockMopar » Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:17 pm

My Mac Pro (2009) has run for years with 6GB until recently when I updated it to 16GB. Didn't notice much change in speed.
What did help big time, was the change from a regular harddrive to a SSD-drive. Boot up and Finder-startup time got decimated.
Recently I installed 2010 firmware, just to be able to run Sierra so this 8 year old Mac will a few more years of life in it.

Maybe an upgrade to Sierra wil fix the slowness of your current system?
Have you tried starting up with ctrl-V held down, to see perhaps what the hold up is?


I've noticed a couple more 'bugs' in TS on a Mac (probably all related to Java), like ctrl-clicking (=right click) on a gauge, doesn't seem to do anything. Where on a Windows OS it shows the list of gauges to choose off.
Daily driver: 1973 Dodge Dart - 318ci engine / MS3x - ignition only for now.
A518 OD transmission / 3.55 rearaxle gears.
More toys on my site: https://www.bigblockmopar.nl/
User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:10 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby LT401Vette » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:08 pm

I did put the update up.

CTRL+Click=right click, I didn't know that was a thing :-)
I always use a 2 finger click on OS X for right click.

I think I have come to the conclusion something went wrong in my El Capitan update and never got straightened out since.

I see they are still selling 4GB Macs, so it has to work there. They couldn't sell the way this is working.

I did some browsing around and see some others that have had this happen. So far none of the hopeful cures seem to do it.. I think need to blow this OS away and start with a clean install.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 9966
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby BigBlockMopar » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:31 pm

Checked the update #18. Full screen view seems to work good now.
The Finder's top menu-bar and Dock stay visible during the fullscreen view. But the Dock could easily be 'auto-hidden' by pressing Alt-CMD 'D' if needed.
Daily driver: 1973 Dodge Dart - 318ci engine / MS3x - ignition only for now.
A518 OD transmission / 3.55 rearaxle gears.
More toys on my site: https://www.bigblockmopar.nl/
User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:10 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby noisymime » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:36 pm

+1 for 3.0.18 working beautifully.

3.0.17.5 still had the fullscreen issue for me on Sierra (10.12.2) but .18 has solved it :yeah!:
Mk2 Cortina 1600 with V3.57 MS3+MS3X
Turbo crossflow with COPs, sequential ignition/injection up and running
noisymime
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:44 am
Location: Ballarat, Australia

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby David_G » Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:10 am

Works too for me, Thanks!!

Right-clicking on a gauge has always worked for me on the mac. Also with v3.0.17
David_G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:14 am

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby BigBlockMopar » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:49 pm

It probably works fine if you have 2-3 button mouse I think?
With a regular 'normal' Apple one-button mouse, one would use the CTRL-key to 'right-click' on an item.

But TS (or Java) uses the Apple CTRL-key, the 'windows way', and uses it to be able to select multiple items. Like selecting a number of gauges at the same time to change their gauge-image all at once for instance.
On an Apple computer, the Apple-key (or Shift-key) is/can be used to select more than one item at once.

(expected) Key behavior between operating systems can be quite different and I can understand how a multi-OS program could get lost in what system to use, especially when it runs in a subsystem like Java. (Java has never been implemented/written properly and working 'really good' on a Mac-system).
Daily driver: 1973 Dodge Dart - 318ci engine / MS3x - ignition only for now.
A518 OD transmission / 3.55 rearaxle gears.
More toys on my site: https://www.bigblockmopar.nl/
User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:10 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby David_G » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:53 pm

I use a Apple Magic Mouse (the one with the touch surface on top and one physical click) with my iMac.

You can set a mouse wheel and secondary click in the system preferences. The Touch surface senses where the finger is when the click-action happens and therefore knows if it's a normal left-finger click or secondary click.
Works perfectly!
David_G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:14 am

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby BigBlockMopar » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:41 pm

Image

I've been using the simple Apple 'Pro Mouse' for the last 100 orso years, but remembered I still had a 'dormant' Magic Mouse in a drawer somewhere.
Connected the Magic Mouse, activated the right-click option and yes, right-clicking the gauges in TS work nicely now.
Daily driver: 1973 Dodge Dart - 318ci engine / MS3x - ignition only for now.
A518 OD transmission / 3.55 rearaxle gears.
More toys on my site: https://www.bigblockmopar.nl/
User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:10 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby LT401Vette » Fri Feb 03, 2017 5:24 am

I will have to add the CTRL + Click for apple.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 9966
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: TS bug after exiting fullscreen Gauge Cluster-view

Postby BigBlockMopar » Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:14 am

Wouldn't that create other behavior issues in TS, like having to rewrite the function of other keys to multi-select items for instance (which the CTRL-key now handles)?
I don't think you should need to spent time/resources on a function that only causes a minor inconvenience with a very limited number of users
(I wonder how many other Apple OSX users still use TS with desktop Mac and a one-button mouse).

I would much rather like to see resources put into a iOS version of TunerStudio... Or Apple releasing OSX on iPads...
Whichever comes first ;)
Daily driver: 1973 Dodge Dart - 318ci engine / MS3x - ignition only for now.
A518 OD transmission / 3.55 rearaxle gears.
More toys on my site: https://www.bigblockmopar.nl/
User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:10 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest