Tuner Studio connection lost

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Sun May 14, 2017 7:05 pm

2017-05-15_13.58.14.msq
:)
(113.16 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
2017-05-15_13.58.14.msq
:)
(113.16 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
2017-05-15_13.58.14.msq
:)
(113.16 KiB) Downloaded 4 times




Hi guys

This morning while reconnecting my MS2 V3 3.3.2 after changing from a Hall crank sensor to a VR on a BMW M54B30 I seem to have lost communications through tuner studio.

I updated the TS version to the current 3.0.22 just before attempting to crank - during first attempt everything was functioning normally but on second crank attempt I had the "Invalid data received from controller' message appear in the bottom left corner followed by the Protocol Error box illuminating in yellow.
I've uninstalled and reinstalled the driver for the PL2303 USB - RS232 adapter I've been using without trouble up til this point. Have been playing around with the project for about 18 months now and this is the first time it's acted up like this.

Trouble is, my TunerStudioAppDebug.txt file is 2.6MB in size & the forum won't let me upload any bigger than 7xxkb - help!!

Thanks

Matt

This is my first time with MS, any help is gratefully accepted :)
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby LT401Vette » Mon May 15, 2017 6:14 am

Try this:

- Delete the TunerStudioAppDebug.txt
- Start TS
- Turn on Comm Debug under the menu: Communications --> Comm Debug
- Open your project with the controller on
- Let it try to connect a couple times
- Close TS

Then the TunerStudioAppDebug.txt should be reasonably small and have the info we need.

If it is still too large, email it to support <at> efianalytics. com with a link to this post.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10165
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Mon May 15, 2017 4:25 pm

Thanks, will give it a shot tonight & report back :)
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Tue May 16, 2017 2:43 am

File size still too large to post, email on its way.

I have a funny suspicion the cable is at fault here, could very well be wrong though.

Thanks very much for your help!!
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby LT401Vette » Tue May 16, 2017 8:56 am

It appears to be getting repeated and senseless data from the serial line.

Is it the wrong adapter?
Or maybe like you said a bad cable?

If you get a new one, get an FTDI based cable.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10165
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Wed May 17, 2017 3:01 am

I've been using the adapter for around 18 months now with no apparent issues, just a generic PL2303 clone.

New cable arrived today, will give it a nudge tomorrow and see how we get on.

Thanks again!!
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Thu May 18, 2017 2:59 am

New cable arrived yesterday, thought I had ordered a FTDI cable but it turns out (i think) that it's another PL2303 clone :(

Either way, I still can't establish a connection with the new cable. Tried to connect an old IBM T30 laptop with a proper RS232 port this evening and can't get that to communicate with the MS either.

I had the project running / communicating fine for 18 months +/- up until this point, really starting to tear my hair out now! Any ideas?

Thanks!
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby LT401Vette » Thu May 18, 2017 12:32 pm

From the log you set, after the last time it connected, the MS was reporting a Framing error. That usually is related to the wrong baud rate.

make sure you are still set to 115200, but if the baud got changed on the controller, you will need to find the baud it got changed to.

Worse case you can reinstall the firmware, then load the msq above, that does have baud set to 115200
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10165
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby jsmcortina » Thu May 18, 2017 1:06 pm

What Phil says is good advice. In the interim you could try running portcheck.exe (from the Downloads page) and see what it has to say.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33365
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Thu May 18, 2017 1:19 pm

Awesome, thanks guys.

I'll use my partners laptop & run the program as suggested and report back

Thanks very much :)
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Sat May 20, 2017 12:28 am

Hi again guys

Ran portcheck on my Windows laptop, no response from the controller at either 9600 or 115200.

Also ran these tests on advice from Brian at EFIAnalytics

"If you connect your ECU to try and make a connection with TS but instead go to Communications and open the Mini Terminal then slect the correct port you are using then a baud rate of 115200 click open port and if there is no error message then the port should be open. Now please type a capital S in the top box and see if it prints out the firmware serial signature in the lower box.

If it does not then please discount the ECU from the USB to serial adapter then jumper pins 2 and 3 together and then type a character and see if it prints out in the lower box as well. If it does then communication to the ECU is happening but the ECU is not responding at that point so please check the V-ref line (I believe its pin 28) and make sure that it has 5 volts."

Followed his instructions and my results were
- Port /dev/tty.usbserial opened ok at 115200 baud in Mini Terminal, no error message. Typed S but no response while connected to controller

- Jumpered pins 2 & 3 together, sent S and received a response in the bottom window.

- Checked v-ref (pin 26 DB37) and saw 5v (pin 28 I believe is the main +12v supply)

- Tried to connect to the controller again, still no response with the same error message of ‘No Controller Detected’

@ Phil - the Baud is definitely set to 115200 in TS - how on earth do I find out what the MS is set to? Or is this now a case of erase and reload firmware & MSQ?

Thanks again for your help

*Edit - typos
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby jsmcortina » Sat May 20, 2017 3:31 am

I'd try reloading the firmware. You'll need to install the boot jumper.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33365
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Sat May 20, 2017 3:15 pm

jsmcortina wrote:I'd try reloading the firmware. You'll need to install the boot jumper.

James




Ohhhkay, attempted to reload firmware this morning, ms2_loader returns the error message stating "No valid ports or ECU found. Cannot load firmware without communications."

ECU is powered up fine, ran the Loader software on 2 different laptops with the same error message result, reinstalled driver software to make sure that isn't the issue.

Might as well add I've tested the DB9 port and both of my cables for continuity, everything came back at 0.5Ω or less.


Any further suggestions or is this the end of the road?

Thanks :(
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby jsmcortina » Sat May 20, 2017 4:12 pm

Was that with the boot jumper installed?

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33365
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Sat May 20, 2017 4:35 pm

jsmcortina wrote:Was that with the boot jumper installed?

James



Hi James

I was following the Symtech instructions http://www.symtechlabs.com/support/know ... uirt:flash , didn't make it to the point where jumping the boot pins was prescribed. Are there different ways of reloading the firmware or are these instructions ok?

Thanks
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Sat May 20, 2017 6:56 pm

Came across another thread that seemed to have a similar problem, followed the tests here http://www.megamanual.com/connect.htm . Continuity was good across all pins, averaging 0.4Ω never higher than 0.5Ω. Saw a stable 4.99v @ U6 pin 16 & a clean ground from pin 15 back to U5 pin 2.

I assume that all this tells me is the U6 chip has somehow nuked itself?

Thanks again for all your input, much appreciated
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby jsmcortina » Sun May 21, 2017 1:47 am

Are Symtech still trading?
The current manuals are under the MANUALS link above.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33365
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby prof315 » Sun May 21, 2017 4:10 am

jsmcortina wrote:Are Symtech still trading?


James

No they are gone..... and left a bunch of angry people in their wake
Linfert Performance: Come run up front
92 Corrado 2.0L ABA and Borg Warner EFR 6258 on MS3Pro.
94 Ranger 2.3 Twin Plug on MS2
Support the developers!
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, FL

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby Ahmedsinc » Wed May 24, 2017 4:23 pm

Ok, have tried to reload firmware with boot jumper installed, this time using the instructions in the Manual (oops)

Cant establish any communication with the Megasquirt at all, have attached image of the loader window.

What on earth am I doing wrong here??
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-05-25 at 11.10.45 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-25 at 11.10.45 AM.png (33.27 KiB) Viewed 135 times
Ahmedsinc
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:33 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Tuner Studio connection lost

Postby LT401Vette » Thu May 25, 2017 5:38 am

This is sounding like hardware damage. If you have 5V on V Ref, it may be the serial chip.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10165
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Next

Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests