Page 1 of 1

Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:53 am
by jsmcortina
I know this has been discussed before, but I can't find how to implement it.
On some curves it would be useful to set the dot free, so it follows the X and Y axis instead of being stuck to a curve. Is this possible?
oilp.png

Code: Select all

        curve = oil_curve, "Min/Max Oil Pressure vs. RPM"
            columnLabel = "RPM", "Min", "Max"
            xAxis       = 0, {rpmhigh}, 6
            yAxis       = 0, 300, 6
            xBins       = oil_rpm, rpm
            yBins       = oil_press_min
            yBins       = oil_press_max
          lineLabel   = "Min. pressure"
          lineLabel   = "Max. pressure"
James

Re: Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:01 am
by Brian H EFI
Just add the coma and the output channel on the Y axis as you do with the x axis and the dot will follow both output channel variables rather then the X axis and the curve. With a little testing it would seem that when the Y axis has an output channel set it will allow the dot to be free above the highest value on the curve at the current X axis location but can not go below the curve so its not completely free. I will see if there is a way to make it completely free from the curve lines.

Re: Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:52 pm
by jsmcortina
You edited your post! I just tested and reached the same conclusion... the attached confirm what you are saying.
floatingdot-ok.png
floatingdot-nok.png
James

Re: Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:14 am
by jsmcortina
Any new thoughts on this? I'm trying to implement a customer request on the trans control shift curves and the dot really needs to be set free for this to work.

James

Re: Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:32 am
by LT401Vette
The dot will free float if there is an OutputChannel name assigned to the yBins like done with the xBins

Code: Select all

        curve = oil_curve, "Min/Max Oil Pressure vs. RPM"
            columnLabel = "RPM", "Min", "Max"
            xAxis       = 0, {rpmhigh}, 6
            yAxis       = 0, 300, 6
            xBins       = oil_rpm, rpm
            yBins       = oil_press_min, [b]someOutputChannel[/b]
            yBins       = oil_press_max
          lineLabel   = "Min. pressure"
          lineLabel   = "Max. pressure"
That should be all it takes to set it free.

Re: Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:06 am
by jsmcortina
LT401Vette wrote:That should be all it takes to set it free.
Almost there, but it won't go below the lower curve.

Code: Select all

   curve = shiftt12, "Shift Curve 1->2"
         topicHelp = "file://$getProjectsDirPath()/docs/Trans_Control-1.1.pdf#shiftcurves"
      columnLabel = "%load", "Up", "Down"
      xAxis       = 0, 100, 6
      yAxis       =  0, { prefSpeedUnits == 0 ? 100 : 160 }, 6
      xBins       = shift12load, load
      yBins       = shiftup12, vss1
      yBins       = shiftdown12, vss1
Dot stuck on lower curve
Dot stuck on lower curve
dot-almost-free.png (79.04 KiB) Viewed 718 times
James

Re: Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:22 am
by LT401Vette
Interesting.. With a curve that has only 1 yBins defined, it is full floating, with multiple lines it gets boxed in..

I'll fix that.

Re: Curves, setting the dot free

Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:36 pm
by jsmcortina
It seems that at least with v3.0.60.33 the dot has now been set free.

James