Page 1 of 3

GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:07 pm
by nzgrub
I have a raspberry pie 3 with tunerstudio (latest version, just did update) and a v.kel VK2828U7G5LF GPS unit.
In mini terminal it shows I am getting a signal.
When I go to gauge view I get no satellite, speed or latitude etc.

I have attached a short video of this.

Any help appreciated.

Couldn't upload video here so it is at https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rJ1HI2 ... sp=sharing

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:32 am
by LT401Vette
TunerStudio looks for $GPRMC and $GPGGA messages before publishing.
I see $GPRMC, but no $GPGGA in your video.

Can you configure the device to generate $GPGGA?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:16 pm
by nzgrub
May have been off screen in mini-term have stretched mini-term and done a new video here ... https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qFcPmr ... sp=sharing

looks to my untrained eye to be getting data. Perhaps a setting in the gps unit is wrong?

gps unit info here.... https://drive.google.com/file/d/1johbi5 ... sp=sharing

Another question, can I use mini-term to send a command line to the gps, if so how?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:36 am
by LT401Vette
In this video it looks like you have both. It should be good to go.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:50 am
by nzgrub
Should be good to go.
But I get nothing when in gauge view.
Something must be not quite right.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:13 am
by nzgrub
Another question, can I use mini-term to send a command line to the gps, if so how?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:44 am
by LT401Vette
nzgrub wrote:Another question, can I use mini-term to send a command line to the gps, if so how?
Anything you type in the top box will be sent.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:08 pm
by VLC-05L
This is likely the same problem that I have been dealing with. I have actually picked this up again in the last couple of days to try and sort out.

I ended up installing a GPS Daemon and ran something in the linux terminal and it shows that the GPS is connected to about 9 satellites, shows correct data being received in terms of speed, latitude and longitude, as well as elevation. That said, this program (or whatever the correct name is for it) that shows the GPS information doesn't work when Tuner Studio is open, to me indicating that TS is trying to talk to the GPS.

Mine shows the data being received in the mini terminal but when using Tuner Studio it says that there is no fix, when I know that it has a fix. It seems to randomly indicate that it has a fix for about 10 seconds (however speed doesn't work during this time) but then the indicator goes out again for a while.

I thought that it might be a problem with the baud rate and frequency and was going to try and change that in the GPS but am still trying to work out how to do that. Now I've been reminded I can use the top box to send things to the unit I can have a go at it.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:36 pm
by nzgrub
Great, well for me anyway, I am not the only one with this problem.
I have not had time to work on it lately.
I tried typing into the top box of mini terminal to change frequency and baud rate with code that come with gps manual but it does not seem to make any difference.
So you just type it and it sends as you type?
Maybe as I am a slow typist its not getting the info quick enough?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:26 am
by LT401Vette
If you can capture a raw log of the output, I should be able to see what data may be missing.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:58 am
by VLC-05L
First I looked at the mini terminal in tuner studio and I was able to get messages out. They didn't seem to be coming out all that fast though.

I tried to get the messages to come out of the terminal and wasn't about to get anything until I ran the following command: stty -F /dev/ttyUSB0 raw 9600

After running that and then running: cat /dev/ttyUSB0 i was able to get the messages to come out. I cant see the baud rate in the pi being a problem as I set the baud rate in TS to 9600 when setting up the GPS.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:15 pm
by VLC-05L
Hi Phil,

I sent you the raw GPS logs via PM. Let me know if there is anything else that you need to know.


Glen

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 4:16 pm
by VLC-05L
NZGrub,

You have any more luck with this?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:22 pm
by VLC-05L
So I looked at this again today. I played with the mini terminal again and found that the 14400 baud rate also works for receiving the GPS messages. Is that normal? Could this indicate that there is an issue with the settings of the GPS module? I changed the configuration in TS to 14400 baud for the GPS and it indicates that the GPS is active for about 5 seconds (while showing 96kph as the speed while I'm stationary) then the indicator turns off and randomly turns on again for short periods of time.

Surely other people have got GPS to work with a linux release, so I'm guessing that is not the problem. I'm not sure if it is a module problem or TS problem. Given that the GPS messages all appear to be correctly received I can only assume that it is a problem with TS? I don't want to go out and buy another GPS module just to have the same problem again. Very frustrating.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:40 pm
by LT401Vette
It certainly works with TS on linux. Unfortunately we can't try every GPS module.

Where did you send the captured log?
I don't see it in the support inbox.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:17 pm
by VLC-05L
LT401Vette wrote:It certainly works with TS on linux. Unfortunately we can't try every GPS module.

Where did you send the captured log?
I don't see it in the support inbox.
I sent it by PM over here. I will send it via email.

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:17 pm
by VLC-05L
So I found the TS log or debug file and looked at it today. There are records in there regarding GPS.

This block is shown over and over again:

java.io.IOException: Underlying input stream returned zero bytes
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.readBytes(StreamDecoder.java:288)
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.implRead(StreamDecoder.java:326)
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.read(StreamDecoder.java:178)
at java.io.InputStreamReader.read(InputStreamReader.java:184)
at java.io.BufferedReader.fill(BufferedReader.java:161)
at java.io.BufferedReader.readLine(Buf18/12/17 13:46:20 :Debug: JSSC ControllerInterface Close Connection currentPort == null:false


Followed by this which is shown over and over again:

18/12/17 13:46:20 :Info: Closing Port
18/12/17 13:46:20 :Info: Successfully Closed Port
18/12/17 13:46:22 :Info: Opening port: /dev/ttyUSB0
18/12/17 13:46:25 :Error: Resetting GPS Connection
18/12/17 13:46:25 :Debug: JSSC ControllerInterface Close Connection currentPort == null:false
18/12/17 13:46:25 :Info: Closing Port
18/12/17 13:46:25 :Info: Successfully Closed Port


Anyone have some advice as to what needs to be adjusted?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:37 pm
by VLC-05L
Still stuck on this. Anyone else have GPS working on Raspbian with Tuner Studio?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:03 am
by LT401Vette
In this thread, he was having trouble, then got it working:
http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 22&t=67961

If you open the port in Mini term, do you get data?

Re: GPS, Tunerstudio, Raspberry Pi

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:30 pm
by SwedCharger-67
LT401Vette wrote:In this thread, he was having trouble, then got it working:
http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 22&t=67961
Well, I just briefly checked the USB connection and that worked ok for the moment I was checking.

However, I want to use the Bluetooth connection, and that is still very unreliable. It works from system power up, but stops working after a few minutes, reason unknown, I need to spend more time on it.