CAN Bus ID question

This forum is for the discussion of other projects on Megasquirt/Microsquirt hardware that don't fit into any of the other forums

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

CAN Bus ID question

Postby Joeli0 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:45 pm

Hello Gents. Two questions here. First one is Im trying to see if there is an identifier in the CAN Bus output that tells me when data logging or things like that are active? Or maybe Launch active? Also is there a way via Can bus to change values such as launch RPM or can I only input external sensor values back into the MS> This is all for MS3Pro BTW. Thanks.
Joeli0
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:38 am

Re: CAN Bus ID question

Postby Suprazz » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:50 pm

Refer to the canbus pdf 29 bits protocol: http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Megasqui ... -01-20.pdf

And 11bits protocol: http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Megasqui ... adcast.pdf

Yes it can be done, but not easily.

Setup a variable lunch rpm instead based on an analog input value that you can send via canbus. Much easier.
Best looking and most advanced CAN-bus gauge
Toyota Supra 7MGE, 7M-GTE and 1JZ-GTE Plug and play ECUs: http://www.perfecttuning.net
Serial to Bluetooth or Serial to WiFi
DIYAutotune Canadian, EFI Source and ECUMaster reseller!
Suprazz
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:58 pm

Re: CAN Bus ID question

Postby Joeli0 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:52 pm

Suprazz wrote:Refer to the canbus pdf 29 bits protocol: http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Megasqui ... -01-20.pdf

And 11bits protocol: http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Megasqui ... adcast.pdf

Yes it can be done, but not easily.

Setup a variable lunch rpm instead based on an analog input value that you can send via canbus. Much easier.


Hi Mr Suprazz. I have a function dash reading the CAN outputs I just wasnt sure if any of the port status or data logging was buried in one of the undefined fields. But the variable launch via Can bus is a great idea. Thanks.
Joeli0
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:38 am

Re: CAN Bus ID question

Postby jsmcortina » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:43 pm

Which 'undefined fields' ? It's all the same stuff as documented in the Datalogging fields sectionof the TunerStudio Reference manual.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 34073
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN Bus ID question

Postby Joeli0 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:15 pm

jsmcortina wrote:Which 'undefined fields' ? It's all the same stuff as documented in the Datalogging fields sectionof the TunerStudio Reference manual.

James

Well basically I was just looking for a simple 1 or 0 to tell me if the ECU was data logging or not via CAN Bus. Not any type of logging field.
Joeli0
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:38 am


Return to Other Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests