Arduino to MS?

This forum is for the discussion of other projects on Megasquirt/Microsquirt hardware that don't fit into any of the other forums

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

aut0m4tic1
Experienced MS/Extra'er

Arduino to MS?

Post by aut0m4tic1 »

Has anyone successfully connected an arduino to the MS? I see the loguino project, but it is super technical, and more than I need for simple testing. I want to connect the arduino to the db9 connector and show the data on the serial termial of the arduino IDE.
I have piggybacked on the TTL connectors of my linvor bluetooth dongle, and I can see the phone pinging the MS. The problem seems to be rx at the 115200 baud rate with the arduino. I'm pretty new with Arduino so i might not even realize that I'm in over my head...
Thanks guys
aut0m4tic1
SymTech Laboratories
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Arduino to MS?

Post by SymTech Laboratories »

aut0m4tic1 wrote:Has anyone successfully connected an arduino to the MS? I see the loguino project, but it is super technical, and more than I need for simple testing. I want to connect the arduino to the db9 connector and show the data on the serial termial of the arduino IDE.
I have piggybacked on the TTL connectors of my linvor bluetooth dongle, and I can see the phone pinging the MS. The problem seems to be rx at the 115200 baud rate with the arduino. I'm pretty new with Arduino so i might not even realize that I'm in over my head...
What role is the Bluetooth dongle playing? Are you trying to monitor data between your MegaSquirt ECU and a remote PC through the Bluetooth dongle? If so, that'll be difficult to get to work.

You can connect your Arduino to your MegaSquirt ECU like any other serial device. You will need a TTL-to-RS-232 converter IC (i.e. MAX232), and three connections to the MegaSquirt ECU's DB9 connector: Rx, Tx, and ground. The Arduino should be able to handle the 115200 baud rate. The rest is all in the software:

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/serial