External sensors via CAN-Display?

This forum is for the discussion of other projects on Megasquirt/Microsquirt hardware that don't fit into any of the other forums

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby Zaphod » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:52 am

Hi folks,

I have recently installed this "triChecked"-CAN gauge for my MS3pro in the middle spot of my Miata/MX-5 gauge cluster:
Image
Image
Image
Image

I was always craving for a very clean and simple look and I think, now I finally found what I was looking for.

Some videos of the gauge in action can be found here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62rXRBwOnOM&list=PLAexkKnmjMKKN0ZmFqeHI0FQAkIoMOYIp

Now - I have the following question - I have two external sensors (1 oil pressure Auber sensor 0-5V and 1 oil temperatur sensor) on the Analog in 2 and Analog in 3 inputs.
Can those 2 sensors be sent/broadcasted to the gauge? I have to admit, that I have not a very good knowledge about all those CAN stuff, but I try to help the developer of the
gauge to get those values to show on the gauge.

Thanks for your input!
Greets
Sven from Germany


Sven
--------------------------------
fun is not a straight line

Image

Sven
http://www.mx-5club-sachsen.de
http://miata.cardomain.com/id/svenmx5
NB-1998-1,6-Garrett T25 HGP Turbo Stage I
Zaphod
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby grom_e30 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:32 am

they are available in the dash broadcasting data set. pass this on http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Megasqui ... adcast.pdf
1990 bmw 320i daily driver with m20b25 ms3 sequential fuel, 380cc injectors, d585 coil near plug, home made cam sync, launch control, fan control, vss, homebrew egt logging what's next????
grom_e30
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 4004
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:44 pm
Location: UK

Re: External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby Zaphod » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:01 am

Thanks!

Do I understand this correctly that this are the "Generic Sensor Inputs" - in my case I have got the "Analog in 2" to Generic Sensor Input 01 and "Analog in 3" to Generic Sensor Input 2? I guess so....

I think I was confused because there was no "Analog in" to be found...

Greets
Sven
--------------------------------
fun is not a straight line

Image

Sven
http://www.mx-5club-sachsen.de
http://miata.cardomain.com/id/svenmx5
NB-1998-1,6-Garrett T25 HGP Turbo Stage I
Zaphod
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby Alfagta » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:08 am

Are the sensores connected to the MS3?

If so generic sensor inputs is not the correct way.
What grom mean is that the MS3 send the value from analog in 2 and analog in 3 to the can bus with the
broadcast function.
Alfa 156 GTA
Alfa 75 Race Car MS III -- alway latest FW
Alfa 164 V6 Turbo
Alfa 155 2,5TD RIP
Test MS II --always latest FW
Tunerstudio V2.6.11 Registered
MegaLog Viewer V3.4.04 Registered
Alfagta
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:54 am

Re: External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby grom_e30 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:23 am

if they are set up under 'generic sensors' in your megasquirt then you are good. can you post your ecu tune file?
1990 bmw 320i daily driver with m20b25 ms3 sequential fuel, 380cc injectors, d585 coil near plug, home made cam sync, launch control, fan control, vss, homebrew egt logging what's next????
grom_e30
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 4004
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:44 pm
Location: UK

Re: External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby Zaphod » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:31 am

Miata_VVT_Turbo.msq
(299.91 KiB) Downloaded 23 times


Yes sure, here you go....
--------------------------------
fun is not a straight line

Image

Sven
http://www.mx-5club-sachsen.de
http://miata.cardomain.com/id/svenmx5
NB-1998-1,6-Garrett T25 HGP Turbo Stage I
Zaphod
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby grom_e30 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:45 am

oil pressure = sensor01, oil temp = sensor02. you are already broadcasting the data over can on group 13. so you need to check if your gauge can decode this if not all the info the developer will need is in the pdf.
1990 bmw 320i daily driver with m20b25 ms3 sequential fuel, 380cc injectors, d585 coil near plug, home made cam sync, launch control, fan control, vss, homebrew egt logging what's next????
grom_e30
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 4004
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:44 pm
Location: UK

Re: External sensors via CAN-Display?

Postby Zaphod » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:46 am

Perfect, thanks, already sent him the link to this thread...
--------------------------------
fun is not a straight line

Image

Sven
http://www.mx-5club-sachsen.de
http://miata.cardomain.com/id/svenmx5
NB-1998-1,6-Garrett T25 HGP Turbo Stage I
Zaphod
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:38 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Other Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests