Getting started with Arduino and coding

This forum is for the discussion of other projects on Megasquirt/Microsquirt hardware that don't fit into any of the other forums

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

jsimmons
Experienced MS/Extra'er

Getting started with Arduino and coding

Post by jsimmons »

Learning how to code has been something that I have wanted to learn how to do for quite a while now. Up until this point I really had no practical use to learn it. What I'm trying to do isn't groundbreaking or anything like that just a fun little side project that I I can do when I have free time. I realize this isn't going to be an overnight thing and it may take me quite a while to do what I'm trying to accomplish. That being said here is what I'm trying to do. I would like to make my own I/o board for logging additional sensors and whatnot as well as set up a couple small displays so I can see data that my racepak can't display.

My first challenge being that I'm new to all this is getting set up with the correct board that will suit my needs. I was looking at the Arduino starter pack but I would like to try and get a board that will do everything I want the first go-around. I would like something that has a ton of I/o capability. I would like it to have the ability to do not only 0-5v analog sensors but also to monitor wheel speed and control solnoids for boost control traction control Etc. I would also like it's be able to run multiple lcd displays. I would like to do all this over can bus. Do you guys have any suggestions for a board that would suit my needs?

Ive been following along with some tutorials on you tube to help get me started with the coding aspect and would like to go ahead and get the things i need to start practicing writing and getting things working on a board.

Any help with this would be appreciated
Raymond_B
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Getting started with Arduino and coding

Post by Raymond_B »