Compiling source

Testing and development of Megasquirt 3

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Post Reply
makro
MS/Extra Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:30 am

Compiling source

Post by makro »

Hi,

I've followed the instructions in the source files and tools files and have CYGWIN loaded up ready to go with all of the packages under the devel tree. When I type 'make' in the source directory, I get the following output / error.

Matt@Matt-PC ~/ms3-source-1.3.2/ms3
$ make
/bin/echo "// setup for MS3" > opt.h
grep -v "^#[12345]" core.ini | sed 's/^#0//' > ms3.ini
c:/usr/bin/m68hc11-elf-gcc -g -Wall -Werror -O -fomit-frame-pointer -m9s12xg -mshort -msoft-reg-count=5 -mauto-incdec -fsigned-char -Wa,-mxgate,--xgate-ramoffset -c xgate.s
Makefile:127: recipe for target 'xgate.o' failed
make: *** [xgate.o] Error 127

Does anybody know what this means?

C:/usr/bin is a valid dir and I can see all of the build executables in there.
jsmcortina
Site Admin
Posts: 39619
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Compiling source

Post by jsmcortina »

I seem to remember a problem I had once where Cygwin would silently fail to execute programs. It was a real pain.

What happens if you type in
c:/usr/bin/m68hc11-elf-gcc --version

That should return something like:
m68hc11-elf-gcc (GCC) 3.3.6-9s12x-20120502
Copyright (C) 2003 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

If that's ok, then try the full command line for that compile step:
c:/usr/bin/m68hc11-elf-gcc -g -Wall -Werror -O -fomit-frame-pointer -m9s12xg -mshort -msoft-reg-count=5 -mauto-incdec -fsigned-char -Wa,-mxgate,--xgate-ramoffset -c xgate.s

James
I can repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 04&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
New users, please read the "Forum Help Page".
shauer
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:39 am
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Contact:

Re: Compiling source

Post by shauer »

Just a shot in the dark, but I had some similar issues with build errors that made no sense.

The way I fixed my problem was to go back and install the 32 bit version of cygwin and the build tools. I had installed the 64 bit version for my Win7 laptop and it appeared that the compiler tools did not like 64 bit.

- Steve
Steve Hauer
http://www.77e21.info
1977 BMW 320i with MAF, COP, IAC, Sequential fuel and spark, MS3 knock sensing
MS3 / MS3X / V3 mainboard, MS3 V1.5 a4
makro
MS/Extra Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:30 am

Re: Compiling source

Post by makro »

Thanks guys - I'll try those suggestions out and report back.

What's interesting is that I've also tried on my Ubuntu x64 virtual machine and I get a very similiar error.
The 64bit theory may have some merit.
makro
MS/Extra Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:30 am

Re: Compiling source

Post by makro »

James - no good....

Matt@Matt-PC /cygdrive/f/Matt's Stuff/_Project180SX/ms3-source-1.3.2/ms3
$ c:/usr/bin/m68hc11-elf-gcc --version

Matt@Matt-PC /cygdrive/f/Matt's Stuff/_Project180SX/ms3-source-1.3.2/ms3
$

Nothing at all.
makro
MS/Extra Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:30 am

Re: Compiling source

Post by makro »

shauer wrote:Just a shot in the dark, but I had some similar issues with build errors that made no sense.

The way I fixed my problem was to go back and install the 32 bit version of cygwin and the build tools. I had installed the 64 bit version for my Win7 laptop and it appeared that the compiler tools did not like 64 bit.

- Steve
You're on the money Steve. As soon as I installed the 32bit version of Cygwin... instant success.

Thanks!!!
rabid
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 7:44 am

Re: Compiling source

Post by rabid »

makro wrote:As soon as I installed the 32bit version of Cygwin... instant success.

Thanks!!!
Double thanks! I was pulling my hair out too. Maybe because the tools are 32 bit so the don't want to work in 64 bit cygwin?
Post Reply