CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Testing and development of Megasquirt 3

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Fri Oct 27, 2017 9:47 am

Test code sent.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby AbatelliCristian » Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:33 am

Thanks.
We will try this weekend.


Regards
Cristian
AbatelliCristian
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:33 am

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:57 am

Any feedback?

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby AbatelliCristian » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:37 pm

Hi James,
the car broke the transmission and is in repair. We could only test RPM with the stim. It seems to work. We do not know if CLT works.
We must surely see for the fuel level. We should associate the CAN value with an ADC input.
I think that the car will be re-mounted every week. Then we will do a more accurate test.
AbatelliCristian
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:33 am

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:53 pm

Hi james, unfortunately, as Cristian wrote, the break of the gearbox blocked the tests, yesterday came the replacement from the uk, these days should reassemble everything.
I wanted to remember that, the adc to tie to the can bus are 2: Oil Prex (Generic sensor adc), Fuel tank level (Generic sensor adc).

Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:23 am

Hi James!
Yesterday i have tested the car on the road, RPM and VSS signal are ok :)

24169330_10211554798362519_2109313731_o.jpg
24169330_10211554798362519_2109313731_o.jpg (44.18 KiB) Viewed 207 times


Unfortunally isn't present:

-CLT
-Oil warning lamp
-Fuel level

I have used a generic input for oil and fuel:
generic sensor.JPG
generic sensor.JPG (16.66 KiB) Viewed 207 times


Thank's for your patience.

Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Tue Nov 28, 2017 4:35 am

You are expected (required) to use the oil pressure system for oil pressure.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:40 am

Hi James!

I have used this setting for oil sensor:

oilsensor.JPG
oilsensor.JPG (85.61 KiB) Viewed 186 times


The value range of sensor: 0 - 30, i have insert 35 to turn on the lamp in all condition, but it remain off :(

Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:43 am

From that screenshot, you haven't enabled a lamp output ?

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:14 am

No James, where is the correct voice tu able?
canoil.jpg
canoil.jpg (28.84 KiB) Viewed 181 times


Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:34 am

Ooops, let me try again.

I need to think of a better method there. The CAN code looks at the status of the lamp output pin. But obviously in your case the lamp is via CAN, so my current code doesn't quite make sense!

Do you have more data on the other issues and I will look at the all together.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:02 am

jsmcortina wrote:Do you have more data on the other issues and I will look at the all together.


At this time there are no:

- Coolant temperature CLT
- Oil warning lamp
- Fuel level (in my case signal from Generic Sensor1)
- Shift light lamp
- Check Engine/MIL Lamp

Summary image:

2005-lotus-elise-2-door-convertible-instrument-cluster_100272150_m.jpg
2005-lotus-elise-2-door-convertible-instrument-cluster_100272150_m.jpg (68.74 KiB) Viewed 177 times


Coolant engine temperature, isn't present on display.
For oil warning lamp, shift light lamp, check engine/mil lamp, isn't present the voice to able.
Fuel level, isn't present a dedicaded tab, need connection from adc signal (generic sensor1),to can bus address.

Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:11 am

This is a 2004-7 dash - correct?

As a test.
1. disable the new Lotus broadcast
2. enable 'User Defined Testing'
3. on 'CAN Broadcast Testing' set the following.
Identifier: 1024
Data 0: 0
Data 1: 100
Data 2: 19
Data 3: 136
Data 4: 64
Data 5: 192
Data 6: 7
Data 8: 0

This _should_ give
Data0/1: 100kph
Data2/3: 5000RPM
Data 4: 1/4 fuel
Data 5: 80degC coolant
Data6: Check engine + Shift + Oil lights

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:04 pm

Hi James, i have make the test, the result are:

Data 0: 100
Data 1: 0

Km/h go to 110km/h, for 100km/h, Data 0 is 92, correction factor 1,088

Data 2: 19
Data 3: 136

Rpm go to 5000rpm.

Data 4: 64

Fuel level low and warning level lamp on, if i insert 255, go up tu full level and the warning level lamp is off.

Data 5: 192

Coolant go to 80degC.

Data 6: 7

Check engine+shift +oil lights, go on.

lotus_can_test.jpg
lotus_can_test.jpg (316.1 KiB) Viewed 139 times


Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:17 am

That's good info. I'll debug further.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:00 pm

I emailed over another version for testing.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:26 pm

Hi James, i have tested the new fw.

Result:

-CLT Ok
-RPM Ok
-KMH Not tested (impossible move the car today)
-Fuel level OK
-SHIFT LIGHT OK (i have selected CANOUT 01)

- OIL WARNING LAMP Not work correctly
- MIL/CHECK LAMP Not work correctly

Oil and Mil have identical bug, if i select the output (i have tried more CANOUT) the lamp is always on, i have tried more condition active/deactive it, but the lamp is always on.

Can i make another tests to help you?

Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:41 pm

flycat wrote:Oil and Mil have identical bug, if i select the output (i have tried more CANOUT) the lamp is always on, i have tried more condition active/deactive it, but the lamp is always on.

Did you powercycle after setting them? On the bench I could see those outputs working for me with my CAN scanner. (Bits were set/unset in that byte.)

Please attach your MSQ.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby flycat » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:31 am

jsmcortina wrote:Did you powercycle after setting them? On the bench I could see those outputs working for me with my CAN scanner. (Bits were set/unset in that byte.)


Yes i have tried "classic" powercycle and reset ecu from engine control.

Please attach your MSQ.
James


Ok

lotus_test.msq
(273.35 KiB) Downloaded 2 times


Bye, Luca
User avatar
flycat
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am
Location: slopes of Etna...

Re: CAN LOTUS BROADCAST

Postby jsmcortina » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:19 am

I tested the lamp status bits.
Shiftlight - works - value 1
CEL - not working quite as expected, now follows the "lamp" output - value 2.
Oil Pressure - works - value 4

I tested on the bench and used my CAN analyser to see the resultant data.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

PreviousNext

Return to MS3 Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests