More than 24 CAN ADC

Testing and development of Megasquirt 3

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby nvr2fst » Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:48 am

Additional CAN ADC inputs Pretty please. I only need a few additional but I am out of CAN channels and could really use the extras too monitor suspension travel sensors.
Is it possible in the software or is it a hardware limitation?
nvr2fst
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:39 am

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby Reverant » Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:09 am

It is very possible but not quite easy. I did this for the 1.2.x firmware, and I added a lot more in fact (total 48 analog channels, 16 digital inputs, 24 outputs).

The CAN code is not the actual problem, the tricky thing is rewriting all the relevant code sections that use all these extra inputs/outputs.
The man behind MS Labs
2002 Mazda Miata 1.8 6sp - Enhanced MS3 1.4.0, sequential injection, sequential ignition, big turbo, lots of boost - InCar PC
User avatar
Reverant
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:39 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby nvr2fst » Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:54 am

Reverant wrote:It is very possible but not quite easy. I did this for the 1.2.x firmware, and I added a lot more in fact (total 48 analog channels, 16 digital inputs, 24 outputs).

The CAN code is not the actual problem, the tricky thing is rewriting all the relevant code sections that use all these extra inputs/outputs.


Ah, I see. Hopefully it is something that can be done for next release. It is a real bottleneck on my setup now. I have all the devices that can send data but the ECU doesn't have any available CAN ports to log them.
nvr2fst
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:39 am

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby Reverant » Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:08 am

The biggest problem right now is that we don't have any space left in the "outpc" data structure that holds all the variables that are being reported/logged to TunerStudio. So even if the 24 channels could be doubled, there would be nowhere to put them so that TunerStudio can see them. To fix this, additional coding is required (but has to be done anyway as we want to be able to log other data as well).
The man behind MS Labs
2002 Mazda Miata 1.8 6sp - Enhanced MS3 1.4.0, sequential injection, sequential ignition, big turbo, lots of boost - InCar PC
User avatar
Reverant
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:39 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby nvr2fst » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:23 am

Reverant wrote:The biggest problem right now is that we don't have any space left in the "outpc" data structure that holds all the variables that are being reported/logged to TunerStudio. So even if the 24 channels could be doubled, there would be nowhere to put them so that TunerStudio can see them. To fix this, additional coding is required (but has to be done anyway as we want to be able to log other data as well).


Looging everything at once is nice but not always needed. In the meantime, couldnt I log the channel internally when needed to buy time until Tunerstudio could catch up?
Can I pay someone to add a few more channels? I am currently 2 short to get to where I need to be.

-Josh
nvr2fst
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:39 am

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby jsmcortina » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:35 am

A request that Dimitris has made previously could help with this (I believe.)

If the EGT system could receive directly from the CAN EGT without using the CAN ADCs system, you'd save 8 channels right away.

Jean told me a long while ago that he had created firmware for the CAN EGT that used regular CAN broadcasts that would be easy for the MS3 to receive. Unfortunately, the people he sent it to for testing haven't got back to him. I'll drop him an email.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33912
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby racingmini_mtl » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:49 am

jsmcortina wrote:Jean told me a long while ago that he had created firmware for the CAN EGT that used regular CAN broadcasts that would be easy for the MS3 to receive. Unfortunately, the people he sent it to for testing haven't got back to him. I'll drop him an email.

Yeah, that was ready more than 2 tears ago. But it remains untested.

Actually, it would be interesting to be able to have the MS3 able to receive regular CAN broadcasts for the entire datax structure in the same raw data format. You could then expand on this over what is currently available.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7974
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby nvr2fst » Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:47 am

racingmini_mtl wrote:
jsmcortina wrote:Jean told me a long while ago that he had created firmware for the CAN EGT that used regular CAN broadcasts that would be easy for the MS3 to receive. Unfortunately, the people he sent it to for testing haven't got back to him. I'll drop him an email.

Yeah, that was ready more than 2 tears ago. But it remains untested.

Actually, it would be interesting to be able to have the MS3 able to receive regular CAN broadcasts for the entire datax structure in the same raw data format. You could then expand on this over what is currently available.

Jean


That would be awesome! Let me know if you want me to test.

-Josh
nvr2fst
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:39 am

Re: More than 24 CAN ADC

Postby nvr2fst » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:31 pm

jsmcortina wrote:A request that Dimitris has made previously could help with this (I believe.)

If the EGT system could receive directly from the CAN EGT without using the CAN ADCs system, you'd save 8 channels right away.

Jean told me a long while ago that he had created firmware for the CAN EGT that used regular CAN broadcasts that would be easy for the MS3 to receive. Unfortunately, the people he sent it to for testing haven't got back to him. I'll drop him an email.

James



Hi James,
Any update on this?
nvr2fst
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:39 am


Return to MS3 Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest