twitching oil pressure gauge.

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby christiansend83 » Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:56 pm

I've got an MS3pro EVO, and am trying to wire up a map sensor to be use as an oil pressure gauge.
Under the Generic sensor input section. I set it to Analog In 3, set the voltage values, and burn it. After putting a gauge on the dash board I notice that the gauge will twitch between 0.5 - 23.7 I've tried wiring it to a different source and get the same results. Even with no wire in the ecu connector, I get the same results. Seems like its something inside the MS3? Any idea's or suggestions why this might be happening, or what I can do to smooth things out. Thanks in Advance!

Here is a small video of the problem. https://youtu.be/7uDIhMr6AJI
christiansend83
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby Raymond_B » Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:58 pm

How do you have it wired?

Also let's see the MSQ

:msq:
1995 Ford Lightning. Dart based 427 Windsor, Novi 2000, full sequential, E-85, etc. MS3/3X
Friends don't let friends share tunes...
http://www.buildpics.org/
Raymond_B
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:17 pm
Location: Texas

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby racingmini_mtl » Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:50 pm

I bet you have the knock sensor debug data enabled. You cannot use that and the generic sensor at the same time since they use the same variables.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 7890
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby christiansend83 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:46 pm

All knock control is currently disabled.

As for how its wired, Its a 5v, 100 psi transducer. 5v's comes from the 5v ref. and ground is signal ground. signal goes to the analog in 3.

I will post the MSQ as soon as I am able. ( next day or so )
christiansend83
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby Paul_VR6 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:02 am

Can you post the sensor? I have seen that behavior from some of the brass bodied sensors.
-Paul
1995 GTI VR6 MS3/V3
kptuned.com - Megasquirting the World! Megasquirt Sales, Service, Tuning and More!
Image
User avatar
Paul_VR6
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Oxford, PA

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby jacky4566 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:22 am

Have you tried bumping up the smoothing ratio?

Also you could put a small 10uF cap on the line to help smooth it physically.

Do you see the same voltage fluctuation with a multimeter/scope?
jacky4566
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:05 am

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby Raymond_B » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:19 am

Paul_VR6 wrote:Can you post the sensor? I have seen that behavior from some of the brass bodied sensors.


AEMs or? I ask because I just picked up 3 for fuel, oil, and MAP.
1995 Ford Lightning. Dart based 427 Windsor, Novi 2000, full sequential, E-85, etc. MS3/3X
Friends don't let friends share tunes...
http://www.buildpics.org/
Raymond_B
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:17 pm
Location: Texas

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby christiansend83 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:26 pm

This is the sensor I picked up. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Pressure-transd ... GA&vxp=mtr

Paul_VR6 wrote:Can you post the sensor? I have seen that behavior from some of the brass bodied sensors.


I have not tried bumping up the smoothing ratio. When I look at the signal output from the sensor, the voltage remains constant. Which makes me think the problem lies inside the MS3

jacky4566 wrote:Have you tried bumping up the smoothing ratio?

Also you could put a small 10uF cap on the line to help smooth it physically.

Do you see the same voltage fluctuation with a multimeter/scope?


And... I've attached the MSQ
Attachments
2017-09-13_17.29.19.msq
(273.54 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
christiansend83
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby Matt Cramer » Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:25 am

The MSQ has the source set to analog in 1 instead of analog in 3. If Analog In 1 is not connected, you're reading random static for your oil pressure.
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 13462
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby christiansend83 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:42 pm

Matt Cramer wrote:The MSQ has the source set to analog in 1 instead of analog in 3. If Analog In 1 is not connected, you're reading random static for your oil pressure.


That is true. Although this is because in my attempt to fix the problem, I have tried switching the pin around to see if I got the same result each time. which I do.
christiansend83
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby Paul_VR6 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:01 pm

What happens if you unplug the sensor and jump signal to ground? Signal to 5v?
-Paul
1995 GTI VR6 MS3/V3
kptuned.com - Megasquirting the World! Megasquirt Sales, Service, Tuning and More!
Image
User avatar
Paul_VR6
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Oxford, PA

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby christiansend83 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:31 pm

Paul_VR6 wrote:What happens if you unplug the sensor and jump signal to ground? Signal to 5v?
I will try this, and share my results. I do know that with the engine running, it will display oil pressure, but the needle still twitches all over the place. I have another oil pressure gauge in the dash board and can verify that the oil pressure is in fact not jumping all over the place.
christiansend83
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby prof315 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:01 am

The cheap stainless pressure transducers found on E-bay and Amazon are "Hecho en China" (Made in China) and have a roughly 30% initial fail rate. Get another sensor.
Linfert Performance: Come run up front
92 Corrado 2.0L ABA and Borg Warner EFR 6258 on MS3Pro.
94 Ranger 2.3 Twin Plug on MS2
Support the developers!
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2426
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, FL

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby christiansend83 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 6:56 pm

prof315 wrote:The cheap stainless pressure transducers found on E-bay and Amazon are "Hecho en China" (Made in China) and have a roughly 30% initial fail rate. Get another sensor.


I agree that they are junk, and there are much better sensor choices out there. But here are my results from today's testing that make believe that the problem is not in the sensor.

I unplugged the sensor and jumped a wire from the 5v ref to the signal wire. Here is what the result was...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xPrUzYkGfhI

Also, I checked the voltage on the signal wire with everything plugged in. You can see the voltage on the multimeter remaining steady, and see the dashboard gauge on the lap top going nuts.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14LLcL2Uy8k

Even if I remove the pin in the MS3 plug entirely, The gauge will still go nuts like that. So I would think the problem is inside of the MS3 box.
christiansend83
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby prof315 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:09 am

christiansend83 wrote:
prof315 wrote:The cheap stainless pressure transducers found on E-bay and Amazon are "Hecho en China" (Made in China) and have a roughly 30% initial fail rate. Get another sensor.


I agree that they are junk, and there are much better sensor choices out there. But here are my results from today's testing that make believe that the problem is not in the sensor.

I unplugged the sensor and jumped a wire from the 5v ref to the signal wire. Here is what the result was...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xPrUzYkGfhI

Also, I checked the voltage on the signal wire with everything plugged in. You can see the voltage on the multimeter remaining steady, and see the dashboard gauge on the lap top going nuts.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14LLcL2Uy8k


Even if I remove the pin in the MS3 plug entirely, The gauge will still go nuts like that. So I would think the problem is inside of the MS3 box.

How do you have the sensor grounded? If you are not using the signal ground it won't work right and you'll get the funkiness like your test
Linfert Performance: Come run up front
92 Corrado 2.0L ABA and Borg Warner EFR 6258 on MS3Pro.
94 Ranger 2.3 Twin Plug on MS2
Support the developers!
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2426
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, FL

Re: twitching oil pressure gauge.

Postby christiansend83 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 10:06 am

prof315 wrote:How do you have the sensor grounded? If you are not using the signal ground it won't work right and you'll get the funkiness like your test


I have it grounded through "signal ground"
christiansend83
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:04 pm


Return to MS3 General Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests