36-1 vs 60-2 and MAP sensor

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Kilplane
MS/Extra Newbie

36-1 vs 60-2 and MAP sensor

Post by Kilplane »

Hi.

This is my first MS build. i bought MS3 v3.0 + MS3X.
im using two hall sensors to pick up crank and cam positions.
i want to know, if it is better to use 60-2 or 36-1 on the crank. because im new to this, i need help making up my mind.
i intend to run up to 8500-9000 RPM. witch trigger wheel is better? pros and cons of each.
also as i read it is best to use just one tooth on the cam? seems a bit funny, as more positions per rotation seems a better solution. (faster sync and so on..)
any gains on measuring both cams? (i don't have VCT).

also i intend to run about 1.5 bar boost and go for baro corrected MAP setup.
should i use 6400 or 6300 series sensors? 6300 series should give better definition, but how much does it play a role? the 6400 series are much cheaper around here.
also is it a good idea to use 6125 series for the baro correction? is it a problem, to use two different sensors. (same manufacture and package)
i think it is possible to use two totally different baro sensors also, isn't it?

Thank you!
jsmcortina
Site Admin

Re: 36-1 vs 60-2 and MAP sensor

Post by jsmcortina »

Kilplane wrote:Hi.

This is my first MS build. i bought MS3 v3.0 + MS3X.
im using two hall sensors to pick up crank and cam positions.
i want to know, if it is better to use 60-2 or 36-1 on the crank. because im new to this, i need help making up my mind.
i intend to run up to 8500-9000 RPM. witch trigger wheel is better? pros and cons of each.
Either. The MS3 should have no problems. The 60-2 should give a slight improvement in timing precision during accel/decel.
also as i read it is best to use just one tooth on the cam? seems a bit funny, as more positions per rotation seems a better solution. (faster sync and so on..)