no VR crank signal / sequential / R32 VW

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

mattgreeneva
MS/Extra Newbie

no VR crank signal / sequential / R32 VW

Post by mattgreeneva »

I have wired up the the stock sensor what I think to be the correct way and also any combination of other ways and I still do not get rpm's when cranking.

1= Shield
2= Black (-)
3= Yellow (+) (gets signal on my multimeter when cranking)

Connected the yellow to VR+ and the black to VR- and grounded the shield.

I also tried it flipped around and 5 other possible ways. I am thinking something else is wrong somewhere or maybe its a stupid trick I don't know.
Megatune has a good tune on it from a running 3.2 24v plus it was written by Paul so I am thinking that's not the problem at all.

On sequential does RPM signal depend on both crank and the cam sensor?

Sorry if these are stupid questions this is my first time. Everything else is done and reads good and I thought today was the day to start the car but after priming the motor and oil cooler with the starter I realized I was not getting an RPM reading.

Thanks
billr
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: no VR crank signal / sequential / R32 VW

Post by billr »

Is this a VR sensor? I'm thinking it is, with just two wires and a shield. I'm struggling to figure out how you could connect it "5 other possible ways". If it is a missing-tooth wheel you will get an rpm reading regardless of what the cam sensor is doing. Post both tooth and composite logs, as well as...
:msq:
mattgreeneva
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by mattgreeneva »

billr wrote:Is this a VR sensor? I'm thinking it is, with just two wires and a shield. I'm struggling to figure out how you could connect it "5 other possible ways". If it is a missing-tooth wheel you will get an rpm reading regardless of what the cam sensor is doing. Post both tooth and composite logs, as well as...