Repeatable loss of RPM signal only during cranking

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

babbit bearings
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Repeatable loss of RPM signal only during cranking

Post by babbit bearings »

I am fairly new to MS3 and never tried to create a log before, did I do it right?
2015-08-23 with filter.msl
2015-08-23_18.38.21.msl
MS3 Gold on stock LM7 GM 5.3L with a Z06 cam & a 67 mm turbo.

Once started the engine runs fine, but always starts very strangely. Engage starter, engine spins normally, but doesn't fire or even seem to attempt to fire even with extended cranking, then abruptly it fires up with authority, it instantly goes from cranking to running smoothly, no stumble, no misfiring like it was loading up on fuel...

I assumed I had something wrong with cranking pulse, priming pulse, etc, but the log seems to show the RPM dropping to zero when the starter is engaged an the engine is turning over, but in a consistent way.

Without filtering and with filtering on it seems to be the same.

Am I reading the log right?
grom_e30
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Repeatable loss of RPM signal only during cranking

Post by grom_e30 »

you are getting some sync loss during cranking thats not ideal and will make starting more difficult. if you read the manuals on capturing a composite log and post that up it will show the signals the ecu is getting from the crank/cam sensors and make diagnosing the problem easier.
1990 bmw 320i daily driver with m20b25 ms3 sequential fuel, 380cc injectors, d585 coil near plug, home made cam sync, launch control, fan control, vss, homebrew egt logging what's next????
babbit bearings
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Thanks, I will read up on that and post the results.
babbit bearings
Helpful MS/Extra'er

First attempts, shows the sync error, but I don't think this is really what you wanted...
babbit bearings
Helpful MS/Extra'er