MS3 Pro LQ4 No RPM Signal

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Bolt-on
Helpful MS/Extra'er

MS3 Pro LQ4 No RPM Signal

Post by Bolt-on »

Just got everything hooked up today on a turbo LQ4 project and have no rpm indication while cranking. No injector pulse width or engine start either. I did my best to search for answers before posting here. I read about soldering errors and adjusting pots, but the MS3 Pro is sealed so I doubt that's the issue. I read about triggering flood clear mode, but the MS3 doesn't seem to know the engine is rotating.

I installed the terminals on an unfinished harness that came with the MS3. The CKP and CMP signal and ground wire pairs were shielded, and I added a 12v power wire per instructions. I made the basic LS1 24x settings in Tunerstudio. My elevation is 6,000' and the pressure is only 73.5 kPa, so I reset the MAP lower limit to 70. I am fairly new to this but checked the rest of the settings as best I could. I tried swapping in a used crank sensor from another motor, and checked for power at the connectors. What else should I check?

I'm using MS3 Release 1.3.4 and Tunerstudio MS v2.6.19. I've attached a copy of the tune, a datalog of it cranking, and a screen shot of the Tuner Studio dash. Sorry if this has been answered here and I missed it.
DIYPNP MS2 1989 MR2 turbo Lemons car, MS3 Pro 1971 Riviera turbo LQ4, MS2 1992 Humvee Chevy 350, MS3 Pro 98 F150 5.8 turbo
Bolt-on
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Re: MS3 Pro LQ4 No RPM Signal

Post by Bolt-on »

I found some problems. When I made the connections, I used the writing on the harness wires to locate the circuits, and never checked the wire routing to the connectors. I followed a LS1 basic sensor wiring diagram which shows:

CKP+ to white 6 (CKP+)
CKP- to white 18 (sensor return)
CKP supply to +12v

CMP+ to white 26 (CMP+)
CMP- to white 18 (sensor return)
CMP supply to +12v

I had:
CKP+ to white 6 (CKP+)