Turbo or Squirt first?

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Gregetter
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Turbo or Squirt first?

Post by Gregetter »

Hi. I'm about to pull the trigger on switching over to MS3X on my LT4 383 with Hot Cam. I also have a turbo waiting to be installed. The engine is a proven runner. How would you guys advise me to proceed. Install the turbo then switch to MS3 or make the switch to Squirt before installing the turbo? (currently using the stock PCM with a tune but cannot retune it for turbo)

As a complete noob, it seems to me that I might as well install the turbo, switch to MS3X and start the setup and tuning process. If I switch to the Squirt, get it running, then install the turbo, seems like I'd have to go through the process of tuning twice instead of just "once" with the turbo installed first.

This motor is installed in an '83 280ZX and is used strictly for one mile top speed events, Texas Mile, Colorado Mile etc.
Drivability is not a big issue but good manners are always nice.
Thanks in advance.
Laminar
Master MS/Extra'er

Re: Turbo or Squirt first?

Post by Laminar »

If you set up the MegaSquirt first, you can scale all of your tables to accept boost, but tune everything in the off-boost range first. Then when your turbo is installed, you know you have startup and warmup dialed in, and you can get out on the street and drive normally to start dialing in boost.

Adding the turbo first piles on an extra layer of complexity on top of just getting the car starting and driving down the road.
Gregetter
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by Gregetter »

Thanks, Laminar.
However, wouldn't the start, idle and warmup tuning be the same regardless of whether there is a turbo installed or not?