MS3X 2000 Miata: RPM jump to 3k with deceleration

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

ridethecliche
MS/Extra Newbie

MS3X 2000 Miata: RPM jump to 3k with deceleration

Post by ridethecliche »

First post here thanks for having me.

I'm new to the world of megasquirt but I'm going along and reading as I go. I'm posting here at the recommendation of a user on miataturbo since I'm a bit baffled as to what's going on here.

I'm on a basemap right now which drives pretty well, but there's a weird issue that doesn't seem to make sense to me. If I give the car throttle, it reacts as expected. The second I let off the throttle, the car revs up to 3k rpm no matter what. I could have revved the car to 1k sitting in my driveway idling, and the car will still jump to 3k and then work it's way back down. This happens even in closed loop idle when the car is warmed up and comfortably idling at 850 or so. It also does this while driving, which freaked the heck out of me when I took it out for the first time! There's no resolution on the map for 3k in closed loop idle and I've looked through every menu in idle trying to figure out what's going on.

I'm attaching two logs and my tune. The issue is repeatable. All I have to do is take my foot off the gas.

Details on the car: Naturally aspirated NB1 2k Miata. Only difference is that I have an aftermarket exhaust manifold. AEM X series wideband.

Thanks for any input as to what's going on.

Edit: I've been reading up about engine states etc. Should I try the 1.5 beta update that just came out?
ridethecliche
MS/Extra Newbie

Re: MS3X 2000 Miata: RPM jump to 3k with deceleration

Post by ridethecliche »

Okay, so I've done a bunch more digging and have a few questions if anyone is able to answer them!

It appears that CL Idle is triggering when i lift off the throttle. I'm guessing that's because of the engine state and because I don't have VSS enabled.