Generic Sensor - Thermistor

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

goodysgotacuda
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Generic Sensor - Thermistor

Post by goodysgotacuda »

I installed another coolant temp sensor into my oil system so that I can monitor oil temp. It is a two-wire sensor with one going to "Sensor Ground" and the other is going into the Oxygen Sensor Bank 2 input into my Megasquirt MS3 Gold Box. I am unsure how to set it up and read properly. Attached is my .MSQ, can anyone help me get it going?
2017-08-20_18.3oad-uplaod.msq
1972 Plymouth 'Cuda - 5.7L Hemi w/T56 Magnum

MS3 Gold Box, TunerStudio MS/MegaLogViewerHD user
Raymond_B
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Generic Sensor - Thermistor

Post by Raymond_B »

I'm no expert, but I do not think that will not work on an input that is setup for 0-5V analog. You'll need another port or another type of sensor.
1995 Ford Lightning. Dart based 427 Windsor, Novi 2000, full sequential, E-85, etc. MS3X/v3.57
http://www.buildpics.org/
goodysgotacuda
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by goodysgotacuda »

Raymond_B wrote:I'm no expert, but I do not think that will not work on an input that is setup for 0-5V analog. You'll need another port or another type of sensor.
Thanks, unfortunately I think you are probably right. Is there another input that would be able to read a thermistor?
1972 Plymouth 'Cuda - 5.7L Hemi w/T56 Magnum

MS3 Gold Box, TunerStudio MS/MegaLogViewerHD user
Raymond_B
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by Raymond_B »

goodysgotacuda wrote:
Raymond_B wrote:I'm no expert, but I do not think that will not work on an input that is setup for 0-5V analog. You'll need another port or another type of sensor.
Thanks, unfortunately I think you are probably right. Is there another input that would be able to read a thermistor?
I think only the dedicated ones like CLT or MAT. I've started using AEM sensors as they use a +5v signal. Gives you more flexibility.