MS3 Pro Evo input questions

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Locashlester
MS/Extra Newbie

MS3 Pro Evo input questions

Post by Locashlester »

Hi!
A little background, I'm new to the whole EFI deal. Well versed in tuning carburetors with turbo-NOS, drag racer for over 30 years. My weapon of choice is Aircooled VW's! I purchased a MS3 Evo recently for my tube chassis street/drag car and have a couple of questions:
1: I'm using launch control, transbrake (using it as a clutch solenoid control) as well as the line lock function. I'm wanting to use the same input to activate the launch control, trans brake and line lock. You are able to choose "same as launch" in the transbrake section but that doesn't appear in the line lock section. Is it possible to choose the same input for the line lock and launch control, will it work?
2: The transbrake output I'm able to choose a PWM, is it possible to adjust the PWM output? I'm wanting to use it to control the clutch release solenoid and make it adjustable instead of a mechanical needle valve adjustment. If so, where would I look in tuner studio to be able to adjust the PWM?

I'm steadily working on figuring out my wiring as well as setting up a file in tuner studio. Any insight you can give me is greatly appreciated.
Lester
wes kiser
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: MS3 Pro Evo input questions

Post by wes kiser »

To clarify, this is obviously a manual transmission car, correct?

Perhaps I am unfamiliar with what people are doing with VW's, but using solenoids on clutch release is certainly different than what I am used to seeing. Could you elaborate a little on the actual mechanical/hydraulic setup? My experience with what people successfully do with hydraulic (and mechanical with "hillbilly slipper") type setups generally doesn't include a solenoid.