leds are dead

Ask questions about DIY board assembly issues, fault finding and testing. (Covers all Megasquirt versions and board.)

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

foster650
Helpful MS/Extra'er

leds are dead

Post by foster650 »

i have had success in testing coils and injectors. but when i hooked it up to try to fire the engine the leds were lit up, the they went out one by one. now i have no igniton trigger to the coils. injectors still function. it is a ms2extra with ls coils running wasted spark. i have a msq listed in general under please help a total noob! would appreciate any help

i had issues with my jim stim where i fried the cpu for it. i am thinking i might have fried the ms2 also . i didnt see smoke and nothing is getting hot that i know of
foster650
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Re: leds are dead

Post by foster650 »

Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by Matt Cramer »

Try powering up the MS2 without a CPU, then apply 5 volts to pins 7, 8, and 9 of the U1 socket. Does this make the LEDs come on?
Matt Cramer -1966 Dodge Dart slant six running on MS3X
foster650
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by foster650 »

matt i will try that when i get home.....i did check before posting and i had 4.9v on the leds...it seems like they arent getting grounded but i will check tonite. thanks again...still need to order the chip for the jim stim... lets see if that is the only thing lol
foster650
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by foster650 »

ok.... tried the 5v to the pins 7 8 9 of u1 with cpu removed. no lighting up. checked with voltmeter and I have 5 volts on leds on ground side of led. which leads me to believe the cpu is toast. if I ground the ground pins on the leds they do light up. if I did kill it is there anything else I could have got? is it better to start all over? ( ugh) thanks man even if it is bad news.
slow_hemi6
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by slow_hemi6 »

Sounds more like the led transistors are not switching.