Help thread for my CA18DET project

Ask questions about DIY board assembly issues, fault finding and testing. (Covers all Megasquirt versions and board.)

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

livelyjay
MS/Extra Newbie

Help thread for my CA18DET project

Post by livelyjay »

Car: 1987 Nissan Pulsar
Engine: CA18DET fully rebuilt, 100 miles on it
Turbo: Slightly larger than T25, but not as big as a T28.

I swapped the engine into the car myself. The factory wiring harness is nearly identical to the JDM engine, but the ECUs are different with different plugs. Hindsight is 20/20, I should have run with the factory ECU at first. Instead I followed an online guide and swapped wires between ECU plugs one wire at a time. The car ran, but it won't idle. I opened the throttle plate a bit so I could at least drive the thing. I put about 100 miles on it before I took it off the road to do things the right way. I'm new to pretty much all of this. I have a general knowledge of cars and how the engine works, but not so much the inner workings of timing, fuel injection, timing advance, etc. I purchased "Performance Fuel Injection Systems HP1557" and I'll start reading it when it arrives on Wednesday. My JimStimX should be here by mid-week so I can test out the MS3X expansion card and make sure my fuel injector drivers are working correctly. Tonight I'm going to setup the MS3 to use the regular injector output and see if it's working with my regular JimStim. I troubleshot the entire fuel driver circuit and it appears to be working correctly but some of the instructions are vague.

My MS3 is built and from what I can tell configured for my engine and the Nissan CAS. I haven't done the wiring on the actual CAS yet because I'm not that far along yet.

QUESTION #1
The assembly instructions said to install a capacitor on H1-BOOT, which is right next to the 40 pin header. I wasn't sure, but I installed it any ways. Is this correct?

QUESTION #2