help with creating a tach output

Ask questions about DIY board assembly issues, fault finding and testing. (Covers all Megasquirt versions and board.)

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

falcon fanatic
Helpful MS/Extra'er

help with creating a tach output

Post by falcon fanatic »

Hi,
First let me say that I'm pretty new at electronics so things that may seem obvious to some won't be to me. I have a pre-assembled MS2 v3.57 up and running, but I need a tach output. I have 5 free wires left on my DB37 harness, they are SPR1 through 4 and also the one marked PWM IDLE. I also have six possible outputs on my DB9 connector. Questions:

1. Can I use any of the existing DB37 wires to drive a tach?
2. How?

I'm looking at the Tacho output page in the manual (page 40, section 3.5.5 This page: http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/html/MS2 ... .4-40.html ) and I just don't get it. Can someone direct me to a tutorial?

OR, can I trigger it off one of my coils from my wasted spark system? That'd be the easiest.
2004 Mazdaspeed Miata. MS3 PNP, Little Enchilada Kit (bigger intercooler plus some better plumbing), RX-8 Yellow injectors.

[SOLD]1963 Ford Falcon convertible with a 1990 5.0 HO. AFR 165 heads, mild cam, 9.8:1 compression, shorty headers, T-5. Running MSPNP Gen 2.
nismoautoxr
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: help with creating a tach output

Post by nismoautoxr »

What kindof tachometer? You can use a number of outputs such as FIDLE but you need to know what kindof tach you will run . If its a tach commonly run from the negative side of a distributor system coil then you will usually need to build a high voltage type circuit such as the relay field type in that link you posted. I had to build that same circuit for a Toyota I did a few years ago . Not the simplest thing in the world but the instructions are right there..