JP3 jumper pullup

Ask questions about DIY board assembly issues, fault finding and testing. (Covers all Megasquirt versions and board.)

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

gullwingmd
MS/Extra Newbie

JP3 jumper pullup

Post by gullwingmd »

I am new to this forum. This is my first post. I am building a MS3 with a MSX board. I am a physician, I am a very good mechanic however I have never built a CPU before and apparently I am out of my depth here. I am at "JP3 is a jumper for a pullup on the "Tacho output". So I have no idea what this means. Do I somehow wire it to my tachometer?

JP7 is a jumper for a pullup on the "Cam" input. I am using a Ford Cam sensor. So what does that mean? Do I attach a wire to it? Do I leave it as is? I asked tech support for help and got a non-answer.
jsmcortina
Site Admin

Re: JP3 jumper pullup

Post by jsmcortina »

Your sensors are always connected to the external wiring harness.

Fit and forget the "tacho" jumper.
Whether you need JP7 installed or not depends on the type of cam sensor you have. Read the Hardware Manual for your product and the section on cam sensor wiring.

James
I can repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 04&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
New users, please read the "Forum Help Page".
gullwingmd
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by gullwingmd »

Okay. I have spent all the last few days reading every post I could find on Megasquirt assembly. I found a post explain what a "pull-up resister" does. Yeah, I am learning. The article then sends me to pages in the hardware manual explaining how, if you use a Hall sensor, you will need to add a resistor into the circuit and then attach it to a 5 volt VREF on the prototype board. This is good. I'm not sure why this information isn't in the ASSEMBLY instructions but okay.