U5 Fried

Ask questions about DIY board assembly issues, fault finding and testing. (Covers all Megasquirt versions and board.)

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

KAT PWR
Helpful MS/Extra'er

U5 Fried

Post by KAT PWR »

Today my MS3X ECU cut out on me 60 seconds into a drive. After pulling the car home I pulled the ECU and hooked up my Jimstim. upon inspection, I found that U5 was receiving 10.98V but only outputting 225mV. it's getting fairly hot to the touch so I know its fried but is there anything I should look at before just ordering and replacing the voltage regulator? I also found that the nut for Q9 vibrated off (this car runs solid motor mounts) and was next to its transistor on the heat sink rail.

I've been running this ECU for a couple of months now maybe have 60hrs run time on the ECU.
billr
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: U5 Fried

Post by billr »

Remove the MS3 daughterboard and check the mainboard again, connected to the JimStim. U5 may be overloaded by a bad MS3, not fried.
KAT PWR
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by KAT PWR »

that was tested with the CPU and MS3x cards removed. sorry I didn't specify.
DaveEFI
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by DaveEFI »

If there is a short circuit on the 5v rail, U5 will shut down and get hot. I've repaired a few like this. Usually the tantalum cap C17 failed short circuit. Less likely D19 or C18.
If the unit is subject to excess vibration, I'd use a flexible mounting.
Rover SD1 3.5 EFI
MS2 V3
EDIS
Tech Edge O2
London UK.
KAT PWR
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by KAT PWR »