Shadow dash and Wifi connection

For discussion of other tuning and logging softwares

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby prof315 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:15 am

So I have been playing with an external serial to wifi adapter. With some help from Phil ( THANKS PHIL!!!!!) I have solid connections to Win7 and OSX devices ( laptops and desktops) but no luck with Shadow dash and Android devices.... I can also connect with my iPhone using RealDash. I'm starting to wonder if my Android devices simply don't have the processing power/memeory needed to handle things... I say this because some of the cross platform apps that I use on both my iPhone and Android work much better on the iPhone which has 64GB memory vs a max of 32GB on my Android devices.

Any thoughts
Linfert Performance: Come run up front
92 Corrado 2.0L ABA and Borg Warner EFR 6258 on MS3Pro.
94 Ranger 2.3 Twin Plug on MS2
Support the developers!
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2487
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, FL

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby Suprazz » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:53 am

What wifi module are you using?

There should be no issues with the android devices. Wifi is not requiring a lot of processing.

Did you try realdash and msdroid with the wifi adapter on your android?
Best looking and most advanced CAN-bus gauge
Toyota Supra 7MGE, 7M-GTE and 1JZ-GTE Plug and play ECUs: http://www.perfecttuning.net
Serial to Bluetooth or Serial to WiFi
DIYAutotune Canadian, EFI Source and ECUMaster reseller!
Suprazz
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:58 pm

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby LT401Vette » Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:19 am

WiFi should be lighter than most other connection types. There is no 3rd party driver, it is all straight java with the same code running in shadow dash as in TS.

WiFi is the primary connection with Shadow Dash using my Galaxy S5. The old Google nexus 2012 works well with it as well.

Is it your WiFi disconnecting from the adapter as an access point? Android often will do that when you connect to an access point that doesn't have internet access.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10409
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby whittlebeast » Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:44 am

In the android device, try deleting the BT transmitter (possibly forget device) and then re discover the transmitter and connect with the PW 1234 and see if there is new joy with Shadow Dash. I have three different Androids and a few laptops that I test with.

Andy
User avatar
whittlebeast
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2151
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: St Louis

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby prof315 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:21 am

whittlebeast wrote:In the android device, try deleting the BT transmitter (possibly forget device) and then re discover the transmitter and connect with the PW 1234 and see if there is new joy with Shadow Dash. I have three different Androids and a few laptops that I test with.

Andy

Andy, I'm not using Bluetooth but rather WIFI

Phil, the adapter is set up in STA mode not AP mode. It works quite well with all of my computers and my iPhone.

Suprazz,, it's a USR Wifi232-610 I tried realdash and MSdroid on my Android devices..... still no dice.\

I have a friend who will let me try a Galaxy Note 3
Linfert Performance: Come run up front
92 Corrado 2.0L ABA and Borg Warner EFR 6258 on MS3Pro.
94 Ranger 2.3 Twin Plug on MS2
Support the developers!
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2487
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, FL

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby Suprazz » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:38 am

it really look related to your android device but I'm using wifi modules (not the USRIOT ones) and it work very well...

maybe your android device is loosing connection with wifi? this would explain why it works well with all the other devices.
Best looking and most advanced CAN-bus gauge
Toyota Supra 7MGE, 7M-GTE and 1JZ-GTE Plug and play ECUs: http://www.perfecttuning.net
Serial to Bluetooth or Serial to WiFi
DIYAutotune Canadian, EFI Source and ECUMaster reseller!
Suprazz
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:58 pm

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby prof315 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:47 am

So here is what happens when I attempt a connect to an Android device......

1. Connect the device to the network: Shadow Dash has not been started yet, no problem I get a solid connection

2. Start Shadow Dash: app starts up, it finds the network, connects, gets the .ini signature and connects to the MS, displays data. And then things go bad.

3. Shadow Dash goes offline: I get the following message. Error reading data after 3 attempts Error message returned: Serial Failure unable to get all pages of data after multiple attempts. Application will now go offline. To attempt going back online check the project menu when connection problems are resolved.

This happens with every Android device I try ( 3 so far)
Linfert Performance: Come run up front
92 Corrado 2.0L ABA and Borg Warner EFR 6258 on MS3Pro.
94 Ranger 2.3 Twin Plug on MS2
Support the developers!
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2487
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, FL

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby Suprazz » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:57 am

look like an issue with the software directly or corruption in the data... but I'm using shadow dash with wifi adapteurs and I dont have any issues

Same thing with realdash and msdroid?
Best looking and most advanced CAN-bus gauge
Toyota Supra 7MGE, 7M-GTE and 1JZ-GTE Plug and play ECUs: http://www.perfecttuning.net
Serial to Bluetooth or Serial to WiFi
DIYAutotune Canadian, EFI Source and ECUMaster reseller!
Suprazz
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:58 pm

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby Manu » Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:52 am

Hi,

Did you try it in AP mode ? I use similar wifi converter without any issue.

Regards,
Manu
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in FRANCE.

Image
https://www.megasquirt.fr
User avatar
Manu
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:57 am
Location: Alès - France

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby LT401Vette » Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:29 am

Something you said made me wonder..
2. Start Shadow Dash: app starts up, it finds the network, connects, gets the .ini signature and connects to the MS, displays data. And then things go bad.


What firmware are you using?
Do you have an internet connection while connected over wifi?

If it can't get to the server the 1st time it talks to that firmware, it will use a fall back ini that no longer works.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10409
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shadow dash and Wifi connection

Postby prof315 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:06 am

I'm using current release firmware. So far just testing with MS2 based stuff so 3.4.2 code
Linfert Performance: Come run up front
92 Corrado 2.0L ABA and Borg Warner EFR 6258 on MS3Pro.
94 Ranger 2.3 Twin Plug on MS2
Support the developers!
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 2487
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, FL


Return to Other tuning /logging software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest