Connected to both PC and shadow dash

For discussion of other tuning and logging softwares

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Connected to both PC and shadow dash

Postby red-racing » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:13 am

Hi

I want to connect a shadow dash tablet to the ECU at the same time I have the laptop connected for tuning.
It would be a nice feature to have in the dyno room so customers can see whats going on.
The shadow dash only reads from the ecu so it should be possible to have the laptop to read/write?
red-racing
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:30 pm

Re: Connected to both PC and shadow dash

Postby Suprazz » Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:04 am

You cannot have 2 simultaneous connections on the serial port (or usb).

But you could have a CAN to bluetooth or wifi to broadcast realtime info (but I'm not sure that can to bluetooth adapter exist).

Other solution is that tunerstudio create a tcp server that handle a fake serial stream (that might be a lot of work).

Or you can use a racedash or canbus gauges to display info in realtime.

But with all this, your customers will only see rpm, afr, tps and things like that. Nothing really interesting from my point of view. What they what to see is dyno graph and numbers!
Best looking and most advanced CAN-bus gauge
Toyota Supra 7MGE, 7M-GTE and 1JZ-GTE Plug and play ECUs: http://www.perfecttuning.net
Serial to Bluetooth or Serial to WiFi
DIYAutotune Canadian, EFI Source and ECUMaster reseller!
Suprazz
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:58 pm

Re: Connected to both PC and shadow dash

Postby red-racing » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:56 am

When I was working offshore with ROVs, the survey guys hooked their equipment on to our rs232 datastream, just to read data as depth, heading an such information.
Why cant shadow dash only read data from ecu? then it would not interrupt anything on the rs232 datastream
red-racing
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:30 pm

Re: Connected to both PC and shadow dash

Postby Manu » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:13 am

red-racing wrote:Why cant shadow dash only read data from ecu?


Because it use MS serial protocol. It's a push/poll protocol.
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in FRANCE.

Image
https://www.megasquirt.fr
User avatar
Manu
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:57 am
Location: Alès - France


Return to Other tuning /logging software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 87quest-TSI and 1 guest