Tooth Logger Help

Tuning concepts, methods, tips etc.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Max Welton
MS/Extra Newbie

Tooth Logger Help

Post by Max Welton »

I am using a 36 - 1 trigger wheel on an air-cooled VW engine with a Ford F150 VR sensor. Like this:

http://www.maxwelton2k.net/squareback68 ... index.html

Problem is that while the tach signal seems fine while cranking (ignition and injectors disabled), I'm getting weird behavior when I actually start the engine. I have attached two logs, one while cranking and one running (sort of).

I'm new to this. What does that look like?

I'm running MSExtra Rel 2.1.0p

Max
Max Welton
MS/Extra Newbie

Re: Tooth Logger Help

Post by Max Welton »

Sorry ... here is my CurrentTune

Max
kjones6039
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by kjones6039 »

Man.... That is some old firmware! :o
You might want to update that.......

Ken
1979 Corvette - 383 CID SBC w/ Holley Pro-Jection 900 CFM TBI, 4-85 lb lo-z injectors & Walbro 255 pump
MS2 v3 w/extra 3.4.2 Release
36-1, Delphi LS2/7 coils in wasted spark, driven by v2.0 logic board from JBPerformance
Spartan Lambda Sensor from 14point7
TinyIOX from JBPerformance
jsmcortina
Site Admin

Post by jsmcortina »

kjones6039 wrote:
Man.... That is some old firmware! :o
Depending on the exact version that's about four years old. Lots has changed since then.

James
I can repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 04&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
New users, please read the "Forum Help Page".
Max Welton
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by Max Welton »

OK, I'll update the firmware tonight and see if it changes anything.

Max
Max Welton
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by Max Welton »

Firmware now 3.2.5. No change.

So here's what I'm seeing. The tooth-log looks normal when just cranking. Let the engine start and I start loosing the signal.

Any ideas?

Max
Matt Cramer