Tuning ignition / timing / spark without dyno

Tuning concepts, methods, tips etc.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Onime
MS/Extra Newbie

Tuning ignition / timing / spark without dyno

Post by Onime »

First of all, I'm new to tuning.

I want to tune my car without dyno. I know why dyno is better and I know that on dyno, I can get maximum power possible.
I know that it is easy on dyno to test engine on every possible load and so on.

But, still I want to tune my car on the road. I understand how to adjust VE table, but this question is about ignition.

My idea of tuning ignition on a road is:

(First of all VE table should be adjusted at least on basic level, before start adjusting ignition)

1) At the begining of tune retard ignition on entire map, especially in high boost region.
2) Then get good knock detection headphones, and go ride a car.
3) At the time of ride step by step advance ignition at every possible engine load, until I hear knock.
If engine starts knocking, then I can retard ignition with 2-3 degrees for that region on the map.

As this is general question about adjusting ignition table, I don't want anything specific from you, just tell me if this is right direction,
or maybe there is somthing important I should know?
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Tuning ignition / timing / spark without dyno

Post by racingmini_mtl »

Using knock to tune the ignition will not give you the best ignition timing. It will only give timing that will not give knock for the testing conditions. There is no guarantee that it will not give you knock under different conditions.

But more importantly, it has absolutely nothing to do with optimal timing; some engines will never knock even with wildly off timing and others will knock way before the best timing.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
slow_hemi6
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by slow_hemi6 »