Tuning VVT

Tuning concepts, methods, tips etc.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

JAM
Master MS/Extra'er

Tuning VVT

Post by JAM »

Special thanks to James for working on this trigger wheel application (currently using a test code)
I am new to the VVT tuning so I have many questions hoping some of the experts on here can help me out...

After determining range of motion (with some input from James) I set min/max at 77/127 and then went into closed loop.

my initial thought was to set the cam table with all values at 10 deg and see how stable and close to target i could get, and then step it up gradually

Started with P at 50 and I/D zeroed out... guess that was not right the right thing to do- cam angle it stayed at 0 until it had values in I/D, this seems contrary to what the manual suggests? so i had some low values to start

on the first log i attached you can tell the angle never really quite got to the target, on the second log i changed from 48hz to 99Hz and then started moving P until it was closer to target but my P value was high ( close to 200) . looks like the vvt duty is more erratic, is this because of the increase of frequency?

Here is my list of questions:
1.)how stable i can expect the cam angle to be compared to what it is in the log?
2.)is there any way to see the PID values in a datalog?
3.) when moving P, it seemed the higher the number the closer i got to the fixed target angle (actual was hanging lower than target). does this make sense-is that the correct direction?
4.) How do i determine the best frequency to use, what behavior am i looking for to optimize?
5.) any general VVT tuning tips would be great to hear
2014-08-14_19_1modified.msl
2014-08-14_20_modified(2).msl
test GM7X 3 CurrentTune.msq
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Tuning VVT

Post by Matt Cramer »