Microsquirt CB900F random stall

Tuning concepts, methods, tips etc.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

NickC
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Microsquirt CB900F random stall

Post by NickC »

Hi all,

So I have been riding my bike quite a bit lately, and tuning it. Everything was going great, using VEAL and all was going good but recently, I have been getting random stalls. Does it at Idle and while running. I am almost certain that it is fuel because my WB gauge goes way lean when it happens while riding. Funny thing is, when it is idling and then just stalls, keeping en eye on my fuel pressure, it does not drop at the time of the stall?

So, attached is my MSQ as of tonight and a datalog from letting it idle and then stall. Last time I was riding it, I had VEAL set to auto tune, so the VE table is currently rough, but I was hoping to get someone to have a look to see if they see anything that could cause the stall? I can't seem to see anything, but I am not a super expert either.

Any other suggestions would be great. I did have an issues with crap in the fuel at the begining of the year, so if no one can see anything obvious in the datalog, I guess next step would be to check if any debris made it past the filter and is now at the fuel rail/injectors?

Thanks
Nick
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Microsquirt CB900F random stall

Post by Matt Cramer »

That motor must have a very light crank - it's shutting off like a light switch! And it doesn't appear to be a loss of sync, either; the MAP goes from running to atmospheric pressure in the tenth of a second between idling and off. That would seem to be nearly impossible on an automotive engine, but on a bike...? Probably for real.

The one thing I noticed is that the battery voltage drops a fraction of a second before the stall. Not sure why, but a block in the fuel system might make a fuel pump push harder.
Matt Cramer -1966 Dodge Dart slant six running on MS3X
NickC
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by NickC »