New to MS. Trying to tune 85 Mustang 306 SC sbf

Tuning concepts, methods, tips etc.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

jbigalow
MS/Extra Newbie

New to MS. Trying to tune 85 Mustang 306 SC sbf

Post by jbigalow »

I am new to tuning and i was hoping for some help.

still getting some backfires, seems rich and pulling fuel everywhere for low rpm/load driving.
had some teething issues with the TFI settings and the PIP tang not being aligned with the #1 tdc.
started maf but said screw it and went SD. confirmed timing at 10* tdc with it fixed at 10, does bounce a couple degree's, but not bad. finally got the idle somewhat steady but it still likes to surge, cant seem to get it steady at 800/900. been ready the MS3-pro manual but can't seem to get the idle sorted.

anything we may be missing or are we just doing good?
backfires more than i like but the MAC pro dumps are perfect to hold air and fuel.
would be nice to compare to similar tunes to minimize the trial and error, but looking for any feedback/settings that i may have screwed the pooch on

Using Tunerstudios MS 2.6.19
MS3 1.4.0

car stats
running new MS3-PRO with DIYBOB
1985 ford mustang running 89 EEC IV system/drivetrain
306 sbf
Trickflow H/C(stage 2)/I
42lb injectors
Vortech V1S1 supercharger
TKO600 transmission
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: New to MS. Trying to tune 85 Mustang 306 SC sbf

Post by Matt Cramer »

Try a little less timing (maybe 15 degrees) in the 900 to 1200 RPM rows. This often produces a more stable idle.
Matt Cramer -1966 Dodge Dart slant six running on MS3X
Laminar
Master MS/Extra'er

Post by Laminar »

Here my tune -

- Explorer 5.0 w/ stock intake and GT-40P heads
- LS coils

Are you running the stock IAC valve? You can see what my idle timing and VE settings are
Blown88GT
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by Blown88GT »

Your ignition table indicates 43lbs (400kPa) of boost??
Your AFR & VE Tables are 10 lbs (175 KPa) of boost.