Why does my VE table look like a topo map?

Tuning concepts, methods, tips etc.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

skikir
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Why does my VE table look like a topo map?

Post by skikir »

my VE table looks like a Topo Map. Around 3800 rpm there is the Grand Canyon running up the middle in the 30s with a ridge right next to it at 3200 rpm in the 60s while around 1200 rpm there is the Rockies towering in the 90s and scattered around there are random peaks and craters. After auto tuning and smoothing to make it look all homogenized I'll run auto tune again and it comes out like an old wrinkled piece of paper again with the same land marks. I'd hate to drive across that landscape let alone driving with. Are these peaks and valleys an indication of flow through the intake and exhaust at different flows and really nothing to be done with or can there be an underlining issue that can be dealt with? I've been tuning this thing for a couple of years and keep seeing the same results. I included my last results but the PC battery died in the middle so it's not totally indicative.
1972 Triumph TR6
Dual Extrudabody ITBs
Megasquirt 2 extra/V3
turbo conversion
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Why does my VE table look like a topo map?

Post by turbo conversion »

Under Req. Fuel and General settings afr needs to be set to 14.7 not 13.8.

Also if you are using the EDIS module dwell type should be set to fixed not standard.

If I am not mistaken trigger off set for EDIS should be set to 0 not -1.

Also for batch fire your VE table at idle is a bit lean, normally around mid to low 13s is good.

David
1976 Datsun 280Z L28ET Garrett GT35R T3-T04E stage3 50 trim 63 A/R housing custom grind cam 2000-6000 rpm 440cc injectors intercooled 18 lbs. boost
3" exhaust turbo back LC-1 o2 sensor Hallman manual boost controller EDIS 6 ignition batch fire 60mm throttle body 5 spd T5 borg warner 3.54 lsd
prof315
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by prof315 »