MGB V8 Tuning Help

Tuning concepts, methods, tips etc.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Johnous
MS/Extra Newbie

MGB V8 Tuning Help

Post by Johnous »

Hello All! I posted in the Find a Tuner forum originally, and was kindly directed here. I have built a 3.5L rover V8 with a borg warner WC T-5, and put it into my 1978 MGB. This is my first attempt at Megasquirt, and I am more used to tuning carbs.

The car has been running fine, but there are a few problems. First, I had to set it up with 4 squirts per engine cycle because 2 made it run lean and truly shitty. Secondly, acceleration tends to make the engine go way lean (quite nerve wracking). I have attached an msq and a compressed data log with that tune.

My board is a v2.2 running MSnS. The ignition signal is through a Mallory Unilite optical shutter in my distributor, and spark is triggered through an internally mounted BIP373. I am running 19lb "yellow" ford injectors, which considering this engine will be lucky to exceed 200hp should be fine. I am using a wideband Innovate LC-2 O2 sensor about 30 inches down from the collector (was considering this distance as a potential part of my lean problem) and the controller from Innovative. I rewired the whole car, and my grounds are excellent as far as I can tell.

This was my first car, and belonged to my grandpa before that.This has been a really long and daunting process to get the MSnS working. I want pretty badly to hoon the bejeezus out of this thing, but am constantly afraid of running lean (as my TunerStudio gauge seems to indicate) and breaking s***. Any assistance you tuning gurus could provide me would be deeply appreciated
DaveEFI
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: MGB V8 Tuning Help

Post by DaveEFI »