Page 1 of 1

Generic Sensors

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 12:36 pm
by shaodome
While I can add the sensors and log them, they do not have the ability to be named. It is just Sensor01 or Sensor04, etc. If I try to use the tuning pages, the area to add a sensor name is not available.

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 5:44 pm
by dontz125
? I can rename the 'Field Name' in 'Generic Sensors', and it's reflected in the gauges. Are you using TS Lite, or registered / Full?

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:48 pm
by shaodome
dontz125 wrote:? I can rename the 'Field Name' in 'Generic Sensors', and it's reflected in the gauges. Are you using TS Lite, or registered / Full?
This isn't for Tuner Studio...this is for MS Droid. Tuner Studio is fine.

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:55 pm
by dontz125
You mean like it says at the top of the page? *sigh* Never mind ...

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 12:43 pm
by chips60bug
Runnnig into the same problem. I have 9 different generic sensors in play right now. Is there no way to define what those sensors are?

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:38 am
by MS2tester
the roundabout way would be to use a text editor and rewrite the ini values and name
then reload the .ini
to make sure it does you would restart msdroid or even restart your device to make sure is does not use APP cached data

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:37 pm
by chips60bug
I tried something similar, but didn't see any results. Why isn't this something that can just be set in the app?

Are the app Devs still around here at all?

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:50 pm
by whittlebeast
You can also always rename any field within MegalogViewer to any name that you want.

For example if Sensor1 was really Water Pressure in PSI

you could create a new field called "H2O Pressure"

And the define that field as

([Sensor1]*xxx)+yyy using xxx and yyy to get the units to work out as you need.

Tuner Studio Ultra has the ability to create similar custom fields to drive gauges and new logged fields. I happen to have the latest and greatest beta version and sorry but I tend to loose track what version of TS brings on what cool new features.

Hope this helps.

Andy

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:20 am
by MS2tester
i cut the particular part into a pdf
hope it helps
now i had it working in msdroid but only the normal calculating it would not accept the custom .INC
http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 36&t=57566

now the bosch ntc M12 has a very linear curve so you could do the ADC calculating without the custom .INC
if you have added your sensors in the way the custom ini describes it should now be visible in your gauge menu in msdroid
been some time for me to but i will try to make a screen shot from MSdroid with a custom ini

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:39 am
by MS2tester
for ms3 generic it should look something like this
where by the later numbers stand for the gauge value,s limits!
this would also have to be added if you want to look at this value under the name in the datalog field

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:09 am
by MS2tester
well it does not seem to be so simple
i am guessing it has to do with this part of the ms3 ini

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:04 am
by Trev16v
Hello,

Thanks for reporting this. I can confirm that, when navigating to Advanced Engine → Generic Sensor Inputs and then to the Field Name column, the name text fields are missing.

The fix will be in release 2.5r6. I'll advise when this build has been pushed to Google Play.

Regards,

Trevor

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 4:57 pm
by WestfieldMX5
Am I correct that they're not added yet?

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 11:52 pm
by Trev16v
Hmm, it looks like I didn't fix that as promised. I'll have another look at this during this morning.

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:28 am
by joesf
Has this issue ever been resolved?

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:07 pm
by hybrid
I just use custom.ini (from memory) to configure my gearbox and fuel pressure sensors.

Re: Generic Sensors

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:31 pm
by hybrid
Here is my custom ini for MS2 (I also use a TinyIOX).
Use correct values for your own sensors.

Put this in custom.ini in your MSDroid/projects/<projectname> folder

Code: Select all

[OutputChannels]
    ;OutputChannels have to basic forms:
    ; 1) Controller Channels - values contained in the runtime data stream recieved from the controller.
    ; 2) Expression based Channels - new channels based on any other channels or Constant using 
    ;    mathematical operations and TunerStudio functions.
    ; Type one are primarily used by Firmware developers, type 2 can easily be user extensions.
    ;
    ; Type 1 format for scalar:
    ; channelName      = scalar, dataType,    offset, "Units",   scale, translate
    ;   channelName can be any alphanumeric string. It must start with a letter and contain no special characters or white spaces.
    ;   dataType will be U08, S08, U16, S16, U16, S32 or F32. For F32
    ;   offset - the index of the 1st byte in the read datastream, this can be numeric or key words nextOffset and lastOffset
    ;   scale and translate will be applied to the raw value using the standard formulas: 
    ;      msValue   = userValue / scale - translate
    ;      userValue = (msValue + translate) * scale
    ;   Also of note, scale and translate can be expressions, units can use String function expressions
    ; Example:
    ;   seconds          = scalar, U16,    0, "s",   1.000, 0.0
    ;
    ; Type 1 format for paramClass bit 
    ;   channelName = bits, dataType, offset, bitsOfInterest
    ; Examples:
    ;   ready            = bits,   U08,   11, [0:0]
    ;   crank            = bits,   U08,   11, [1:1]
    ;   startw           = bits,   U08,   11, [2:2]
    ;   warmup           = bits,   U08,   11, [3:3]
    ;   tpsaccaen        = bits,   U08,   11, [4:4]
    ;   tpsaccden        = bits,   U08,   11, [5:5]
    ;
    ; 6 bit fields defined from 1 byte at offset 11. 
    ; the bits of interest are described in the format [n:m] where n is the starting bit and m the last bit.
    ; in the above examples, n=m so each channel is a single bit.
    ;
    ;
    ; Type 2 format:
    ; channelName = { someExpression }, "Units"
    ; someExpression can be made up of any set of constants and OutputChannels using any 
    ; of the TunerStudio operators and functions. 
    ; 
    ; For more information on TunerStudio functions, see:
    ; http://tunerstudio.com/index.php/manuals/88-math-parser-functions
    ;------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ;channelName      =  class,   dataType,   offset,     "Units",     scale,       translate
    ;------------        -------  ---------   -------     --------       ------       ---------


     FuelPressure                = {-12.5 + (112.5 - -12.5) * ((adc7 - 0.0 )/( 1023.0 - 0.0 ))}, "PSI"
     TransLinePressure           = {-37.5 + (337.5 - -37.5) * ((gpioadc0 - 0.0 )/( 1023.0 - 0.0 ))}, "PSI"
     TransTVPressure             = {-37.5 + (337.5 - -37.5) * ((gpioadc1 - 0.0 )/( 1023.0 - 0.0 ))}, "PSI"


[GaugeConfigurations]
    ;-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ; Define a gauge's characteristics here, then go to a specific layout
    ; block (Tuning or FrontPage) and use the name you've defined here to
    ; display that gauge in a particular position.
    ;
    ; Name  = Case-sensitive, user-defined name for this gauge configuration.
    ; Var   = Case-sensitive name of variable to be displayed, see the
    ;         OutputChannels block in this file for possible values.
    ; Title = Title displayed at the top of the gauge.
    ; Units = Units displayed below value on gauge.
    ; Lo    = Lower scale limit of gauge.
    ; Hi    = Upper scale limit of gauge.
    ; LoD   = Lower limit at which danger color is used for gauge background.
    ; LoW   = Lower limit at which warning color is used.
    ; HiW   = Upper limit at which warning color is used.
    ; HiD   = Upper limit at which danger color is used.
    ; vd    = Decimal places in displayed value
    ; ld    = Label decimal places for display of Lo and Hi, above.

    ; The following can be either numeric values or an expression:
    ; Lo, Hi, LoD, LoW, HiW, HiD, ld
    ; For title and Units TunerStudio String functions can be used.

    ;Name               Var            Title                 Units     Lo     Hi     LoD    LoW   HiW   HiD vd ld
    gaugeCategory = "Sensor inputs 1"
     FuelPressure                = FuelPressure                , "Fuel Pressure",        "PSI",        0.0,      100.0,       30.0,       40.0,       70.0,       90.0,        0.0,        0.0
    gaugeCategory = "Sensor inputs 2"
     TransTVPressure             = TransTVPressure             , "TransTVPressure",        "PSI",        0.0,      300.0,       30.0,       40.0,      290.0,      295.0,        0.0,        0.0
     TransLinePressure           = TransLinePressure           , "TransLinePressure",        "PSI",        0.0,      300.0,       50.0,       40.0,      280.0,      290.0,        0.0,        0.0


[Datalog]
    ;  The entries are saved in the datalog file in the order in which they 
    ;  appear in the list below. 
    ;  
    ;   Channel - Case sensitive name of output channel to be logged.
    ;   Label   - String written to header line of log. 
    ;   Type    - normally float or int, no longer used.
    ;   Format  - C-style output format of data or tag: 
    ;             Boolean tags: yesNo, onOff, highLow, activeInactive
    ;             For Hex output: hex
    ;   Enabled Cond - This field will only be logged if the enable 
    ;                 condition is blank or resolves to true. 
    ;   Lag      - If for any reason you need to have a field lag 
    ;                  n records behind realtime. Use a number or expression
   ;       Channel          Label          Type    Format  Enabled Cond  Lag
   ;       --------------   ----------     -----   ------  ------------  ---


     entry = FuelPressure,                 "FuelPressure",                int,     "%d"
     entry = TransLinePressure,            "TransLinePressure",           int,     "%d"
     entry = TransTVPressure,              "TransTVPressure",             int,     "%d"